A spetacular light show

A rainbow never ceases to amaze me. Technically it’s an optical phenomenon that causes a bow of light to appear in the sky when the sun shines onto droplets of water in the air. There’s a perfectly reasonable, scientific explanation for a rainbow, and I don’t dispute any of it. Light refraction . . . angles . . . wavelengths . . . photopigments of the eyes . . . photoreceptors of the brain . . . sunlight spread out into a spectrum of colors by droplets of water. Perfectly rational.

rainbow

Since 965 AD, scientists, astronomers and mathematicians have been explaining rainbows in scientific terms. And I cannot and will not argue with the laws of physics and math. My only questions is, “Where did those laws come from to begin with? How did they come to be set in place from the beginning of time . . . those very laws for mankind to discover and unlock the mysteries of life here on earth?”

ranbow2

Rainbows are scientific in explanation. But, no matter how thorough one explains the technical aspects of a rainbow, you cannot rationally argue its charm, beauty and mystic. And, who knows, if anyone ever found the end of one, they may very well find a pot of gold . . . of sorts!

rainbow close

Genesis 9:13-17

“I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.” Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth. So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”

2 thoughts on “A spetacular light show

  1. Pingback: My insouciant* attitude is showing « peripheral perceptions

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

