Unusual U words are Uneath*!

We are up to “U” week in ABC Wednesday! I was not looking forward to this week as the unusual words are getting just downright bizarre now.

The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words from The Phrontistery and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world.

umbriferous giving or bearing shade.
The trees in Middle Missouri were spectacular last autumn. This was the take-your-breath-away winner out of the seemingly hundreds of photos I took. A generous shade-giving sugar maple in a local park. Don’t you want to just grab a blanket and a book and flop down under it for the afternoon?

unguiculate: clawed.
We share our home with 5 cats. Army Wife has 3 and we harbor 2 for College Girl/Grad until she has her own place. Four of them are fully loaded, front and back. One, named Molly, is adopted and was already declawed when Army Wife took her in from a military family moving overseas. Bridget, Midget and Darby are sisters, born on St. Patrick’s Day in 2005 . Ripley was also born in March and ended up at the same shelter with this litter so she’s considered a sister too. You can see them all here.

uraster: starfish
There are estimated to be about 2,000  living species of Starfish or Sea Stars. They inhabit all of the earth’s oceans and can be found in shallow intertidal areas as well as at depths of more than 13,000 feet!

* title explanation… uneath: difficult; distressing; hard; scarce. Yep. that describes unusual U words.

This is Round 6 of ABC Wednesday. To peek at previous weeks or check out this week’s entries, click on the ABC Wednesday logo in my sidebar.

19 thoughts on “Unusual U words are Uneath*!

  1. Very pleasing U words. I like the sugar maple’s colourful canopy – glorious. I like your cats, too – it took me a minute to realise what you meant by ‘fully armed’. At first I thought you meant they were entire but now I think you mean they still have all their claws.

    Like

  2. You had me at umbriferous. It’s finally summer here and I could do with a nice shady tree and iced drink 🙂
    Plus, I love kitties.
    Great U words- where’s my dictionary?

    Like

  3. I think cats have an unwritten code that they must sleep in hampers. Mine did as well. Love the color of the tree against the vibrant blue sky and the starfish picture is beautiful.

    Like

  4. Love maple trees when they turn in the fall. Love kitties all the time. Starfish are neat too. As always, your words amaze me – do you ever use them in regular conversation?

    Like

  5. That Maple tree is just *stunning*.

    To my English ears, it’s good to hear that your kitties are ‘fully loaded’ – de-clawing just isn’t done here in the UK. We live with our kitties in their full, mini predator glory!

    Hey…I’ve just noticed that you recently made the Word Press front page! Congratulations – well deserved!

    Like

  6. That shade tree is Unbelievable! And your cats are beautiful. I still have to go back and look at all of them but I wanted to be sure I did this comment first, before something Unexpected took me away from the computer.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

