Not too crackjawed* this week

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world.

cacography: bad handwriting or spelling.
This “cover letter” came in electronically in response to an administrative assistant position posted online. I wrote about it HERE. It speaks for itself.

casern: barrack or billet for soldiers.
Army Guy spent a year of his life in the hell hole called Afghanistan. This is a shot of the deluxe housing accommodations at base camp. Regardless of how you feel about US presence there, I hope everyone can empathize with the conditions under which they serve. If you need a reminder, click here.

Deluxe housing at home base

cismarineon: near side of the ocean.
The Caribbean never ceases to take my breath away. This is a shot from a cliff at the Mayan seaport ruins of Tulum.

cladose: branching; branched.
A shot of the splendid show put on by last year’s autumn color.

*crackjaw hard to pronounce.

For more ABC Wednesday fun from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

26 thoughts on “Not too crackjawed* this week

  1. Always delightful to visit your blog. I thought I had an adequate vocabulary but you come up with some doozies.
    Housing for your husband doesn’t look too people friendly. Always greatful for what the military is doing for us by putting theirselves in harms way.

    Like

  2. I have to agree with Ann, I love learning new words that you’ve posted each week and would love it if my memory wouldn’t disappear when I play Scrabble. Great post for the C Day, as always! Enjoy your week!

    Sylvia

    Like

  3. I always say I have to remember these words, but I never do. Except maybe crackjawed. Maybe I’ll remember that one.

    I admire our troops who are serving in horrid conditions in many places of this world. I always support our troops – I do not always support those who make the decision to send them to those places.

    Like

  4. I was once on a search committee for an administrative assistant. We got about 70 applications, and we eliminated about 45 because their cover letters looked like your example!

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

    Like

  5. The cover letter – I’m speechless. I saw an ad for a job recently where one of the requirements was that you “must show up for work on time”. Huh? Do people just stroll in when they feel like it?

    Like

  6. The Dutch (and German word as well I think) for Army Base is Kazerne. So, basically the same word as casern.

    And cacography? I had a personal letter last week that was so confusing I had to throw it out into the world to make any sense. Fortunately someone who was used to reading second grade was able to help out!

    Like

  7. That is what my handwriting has turned into over the years, cacography, and on occasion impenetrable, even to me.
    I do love the end sentence of your application letter, somehow I warm to that person, although probably not enough to employ. Glad you wrote back with some pointers, sometimes nobody has told them.

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for dropping by. Being a feminist myself, I can’t imagine how I missed that fact you so deftly brought to notice.
    …:)!!!!
    Loved your’C’s. very educational indeed.definitely learned some new words!that letter is insane!!

    Like

  9. Thanks for posting the photos from Afghanistan. I found those so moving. We don’t see many daily snapshots and my heart really goes out to those young people. Great posts!

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

