Espy these words for your vocab

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual…

espy: catch sight of.
The dogs are crazed when they catch sight of hot air balloons. So when one descends over the neighborhood tree tops looking for a place to land, their barking frenzy calls everyone outside to see their discovery.

entomical: of, like or pertaining to insects.
The love song of the male cicada is the loudest song known in the insect world. When he rubs his wings together in song, a single male cicada can register more than  100 decibels. You only have to live where they are to really appreciate the “songs” of thousands of cicadas singing in unison! They prefer the dog days of summer and sing their best during the hottest hours of a summer day. I don’t think this year is one of the deafening 13- or 17-year cicada cycles, but it’s LOUD outside all the same! This handsome little guy is finished with his singing. I found him intact under one of our trees. I’d never really looked closely at one of these critters. They are quite striking with their colorful accents.

estival: of, like or pertaining to summer.
What could say summer more than this shot?

eyas: unfledged falcon or other bird of prey.
The World Bird Sanctuary in St. Louis, Mo. rescues and rehabilitates injured birds of prey. This one is a Peregrine Falcon. With a wingspan between 3 and 4 feet, the birds only weigh in around 2 pounds, making them one of the smaller birds of prey. They fly between 30 and 60 mph. In a dive for prey, they can accelerate up to 175 mph! Once considered extinct because of the use of DDT, recovery efforts have been very successful. In August of 1999, the Peregrine Falcon was removed from the U.S. Endangered Species.

eyeservice: work done while the boss is watching.
In other words…not blogging.

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

19 thoughts on “Espy these words for your vocab

  1. Another fun and informative post. Wish I could remember even one of these words once I leave. CRS!

    Since I can’t reply to you by email, I just wanted to say thanks for all of your kind words. The awards still give me fits but I’m trying.

    Like

  2. I love your unusual words! ‘Entomical’ is one I hadn’t heard as an alternative to ‘entomological’, and estival is interesting, because I’m learning Italian, and the word for summer is ‘estate’ – same root, by the look of it!

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

