Two cute

If you’ve spent more than 2 minutes on my site you know about the grandgirl, Peanut. I’ve been contemplating this post for weeks and now that the day is here, I’m at a loss to find the words I really want to use. For, you see, today Peanut is two years old.

Emotions Overwhelmed didn’t come close to describing what I felt this day in 2008. When she was a Little Girl, Turning One I never thought she’d still be an integral part of my everyday life a year later.

But through luck, divine consequence or sheer wishpower, she’s still close enough for us to celebrate the second anniversary of her birth day today, September 9, 2010. From a 6 pound 12 ounce, helpless babe has emerged an energizer bunny of a two-year old with an infectious laugh, mischievous eyes and a personality that just won’t quit.

No. Seriously. I’m completely objective. Really. I am.

From the moment she arrived, I knew my life was not going to be my own anymore. It’s very different, this grandparent thing. When you’re a young parent, it’s all oh so new and different. While you marvel at each milestone, life seems to suck you under with endless laundry, cleaning, errands and sleepless nights. Each new stage brings the parent version of Shock and Awe. The Shock of just how demanding a little one can be, coupled with the Awe of the sheer blessing you’ve been given.

As a grandparent, especially one that can boast they are privileged to be a part of her life every. single. day., I can honestly say it’s completely different this time around. And I’m making sure I relish every second. So what if it takes me an hour to put her to bed? Most of that time is for my benefit. To hold, cuddle, rock, listen to music and reflect on how awesome it is to be able to be such a staple in her life is a treasure. The most caustic of (my) days can be sweetened as soon as she settles in my lap.

As a grandparent, I also have the luxury of hindsight…of seeing the whole forest as well as each individual tree. I don’t have the same task-oriented philosophy I had when I was a young mom. It’s not that the bar is set low now, it’s just that I don’t feel it’s mandatory to use a pole vault stick to reach it anymore.

There are those that relish the thought of the empty nest. We had it…briefly…after our youngest went to college and before an Army deployment brought daughter #1 with daughter #1 to live with us. During these past 19 months, our nest has been blessed beyond what’s fair with opportunities to watch our first grandchild’s life unfold. I’ve only taken between 5,000 to 10,000 photos of the child so far. Even though our “empty nester life” has been put on hold, Entrepreneur and I both fully realize and understand what a special opportunity we’ve been given.

While with us, we’ve experienced our own version of “it takes a village to raise a child.” When dad was deployed, Entrepreneur (aka Papa) stepped in as a father-figure for the first formative months of her life, providing what only a “dad” could give. From the time she was 5 months old, her world consisted primarily of extended family to interact with all day, every day…adults that take turns with the highs as well as the lows of raising a child that is the light of their lives.

I have a plaque on the wall outside what used to be (and one still is) my kid’s rooms. It’s a verse taken from a poem titled, Song for a 5th Child by Ruth Hamilton.

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs.
Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

And babies most certainly don’t keep…for long. Today Peanut turns two years old. The words and partial sentences are coming fast and furious. Her skills in wrapping everyone around her finger are improving. With her “snuggles” and kisses, she reminds us why we bother to get up in the morning.

She discovers something new every day and through her discoveries, we experience the joy of sharing in life’s most precious gift.

Happy Birthday Peanut!

6 thoughts on “Two cute

  1. very sweet. I do love your pole vault analogy. I had to fight for my right to not have a perfect house while I was an at-home mom. But I fought for it- because I was interactive with my kids, and that was more important. I didn’t have a dirty house- it just didn’t look like a model home- But it had more than enough artwork in it (fingerpainting is fun!)

    Like

  2. There is something so special about being a grandparent, getting to share the lives of the grandbabies. I had the most time with the first grandson; we spent a lot of time together and it was special. It still is special. Then there was Tobin – the baby whose eyes saw through to our souls. The baby who lived less than three years, before succumbing to cancer. The baby that clung to me the most, the one that will always be remembered, that I believe is now in heaven helping out little kids who feel lost. I had the least time with my granddaughter, which I regret, but am proud that she is my granddaugher.

    Like

    • The death of a child is more pain than a person should have to take. I can’t imagine what you went through. I thank God every day that Peanut is a healthy, happy baby. She was born with a hole between her heart chambers that, thankfully, has almost closed.

      Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

