Pardon my ostrobogulosity*

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual.

onocrotal: old term for the pelican.
You’d think as many times as I’ve been to Mexico that I’d have a good pelican shot. But noooooo, I had to go to the zoo in land-locked St. Louis for this one.

ochre: yellowish or yellow-brown color.
Tis the season for yellow…and red…and orange. Autumn color spans the color wheel and this one is the closest to the color ochre that I have in my library.

ostrobogulosity* referring to anything weird, strange, bizarre or, in general, unusual.

I’m going to completely digress now and introduce you to Addictionary…a site for those who love words and love to make up words with humorous meanings. It’s an open-source *dictionary* that feeds into the cleverness of those with little else to do. A fabulous place!

Ohflapenn: noun, Category for big states that must be won to win the election in the fall.

onandon: verb, To spend hours upon hours on television discussing minute details of an event, such as an election, that could easily be summed up with a sentence and a shrug.

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

9 thoughts on “Pardon my ostrobogulosity*

  1. How neat! I love your new blog, Lisa! It looks amazing. Also, thanks for listing me in your “Break in the Day Reads.” I’m honored to be included on your list! 🙂

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

