We all suffer from Philocaly*

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual.

panduriform: fiddle-shaped.
My great grandfather’s violin…or probably more aptly called, a fiddle.

periclinal sloping downwards in all directions from a point.
The infamous St. Louis Arch, Gateway to the West. It’s a 630 foot tall monument to Westward Expansion that sits on the bank of the Mississippi River.  Construction began Feb 12, 1963 and was completed on Oct. 28, 1965. Built out of stainless steel, the monument cost 13 millions dollars to build. On a clear day, you can see about 30 miles when looking out from the viewing platform at the top.

petrous stony.
Creek-stomping anyone?

phylline leaf-like.
She posed so nicely for me so I could capture her color. Seriously, the leaf was larger than my hand.

pyrosophy knowledge of the properties of fire.
What is it about fire that is so captivating?

For the rest, we head back to the zoo.

papilionaceous: of, like or pertaining to butterflies.
Guess most of these darlings are winging their way to South America by now.

pavonian of, like or pertaining to peacock.
Can’t take credit for this one. Stole took borrowed it from Army Wife.

penniferous bearing feathers
I have no idea what kind of bird this is, but it’s definitely odd.

*philocaly love of beauty

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

13 thoughts on “We all suffer from Philocaly*

  1. Just lovely pictures. The Violin…I took lessons for 4 years when I was in elementary school…didn’t keep up…and how sad!!! I could be fiddling around on a fiddle!

    Like

  2. “Construction began Feb 12, 1963 and was completed on Oct. 28, 1065.” So it took nine centuries, and was finished before it started? I tease.

    BTW, book is finally packaged – just need to get to PO!

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

