A Quartet of Quidditative* words

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual.

quadrifoliate: having four leaves.
Army Guy is charmed. Since he’s been back from Afghanistan, he’s found no less than 30…that’s THIRTY… four-leaf clovers. I can look for hours and never find one.

photo source

quadrumanous: of the primates other than man.
Quite a handsome fellow, isn’t he?

quatrayle: great-great-great grandfather.
Technically, I’m missing one “great” but that’s okay. This is a tintype of my great great grandfather, Johann Phillip Klippel. He was born in Germany in 1835 and became a Corporal in the Union Army when he was 25. He  fought in the Civil War from 1861 to 1862 with the Missouri Cavalry. I like to picture him as the “Orry Main” of the Union Army. He would have had more “southern charm” than the North’s George Hazzard. After the war, he settled around New Melle, MO and bought a hotel and saloon. He died at the ripe old age of 88.

quinquagesimal: belonging to a set of fifty.
Yep, we resemble that remark.

*quidditative quirky; eccentric

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

9 thoughts on “A Quartet of Quidditative* words

  1. Always love your fun and different words for the day — regardless of the letter! And as I have said before, it’s always fun to learn something new and I always do! Enjoy the rest of your Q Day!!

    Sylvia

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

