A very Thymoleptic sight

Welcome to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nesbitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) beginning with the designated letter are selected and illustrate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual.

On our recent visit to see The Floridian, we were treated to temps in the 80s/60s and a sunset I won’t soon forget. Since I missed last week, I’m making up S-day and T-day with this scenic sight. Enjoy.

scaphoid: boat-shaped.
There are quite a few boat shapes in the water.

schorl: tourmaline.
Tourmaline comes from the Sri Lanka name of turmali or tormally, and means multicolored. The mineral also is supposed to have mystic powers to dispel fear, negativity and grief, and bring tranquility and serenity to your life. Perfect.

seraphic: serene; blissful; angelic.
theopneustic: divinely inspired.
theocentrism: belief that God is central fact of existence.
Enough said.

selcouth: strange; unfamiliar; marvelous; reflects very well the sense of wonder and amazement.

thymoleptic: psychologically energizing.
That’s a given. Refer to schorl.

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

12 thoughts on “A very Thymoleptic sight

  1. Beautiful photo, Lisa. The words are perfect.

    I love your photo of your Christmas cactus. The textures work really well. I have 2 that are just budding. None of mine have ever bloomed in December. I’ve had ’em for years and this is the first time this has ever happened. Can’t wait to try out some variations using some textures. What you did really is quite extraordinary.

    Like

  2. Perfect way to join the 2 letters today! And you’ve chosen words that perfectly represent the photo. Lucky you to have had the opportunity to go away for rest and relaxation in such a gorgeous location. 😀

    Like

  3. Strongest set of words you’ve had of late, which is to say, more words for which I had NO idea what the definition was! I knew I was in trouble when you defined one word I didn’t know with ANOTHER word I didn’t know!
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

    Like

  4. Pingback: T is for Tattoos | Shooting Parrots

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

