A Xenial visit

Wel­come to Round 7 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nes­bitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) begin­ning with the des­ig­nated letter are selected and illus­trate through a photo, poem or prose. My twist on the meme is selecting unusual words and pairing them with photos of familiar things in my world. I’ll be pulling words from sources here, here and, of course, here.

Let’s get unusual.

xanthometer: instrument for measuring color of sea or lake water.
Since I left my xanthometer at home last week, I had oh so much difficulty determining the color of the sea in Florida over Christmas.
Not.

xanthic: yellow; yellowish.
The sea foam was not *seafoam green* as bridal salons would have you believe in their color charts. Sea foam is an icky, dirty yellowish color. At least it is in Florida in December. When I took this shot, I really has no idea what I was going to use it for. Go figure.

xenial: of or concerning hospitality towards guests.
The Floridian was very xenial on our Christmas trip to see her. I think she felt sorry for her aged parents who drove 17 hours straight through and arrived at 7am Christmas Eve morning.

For more ABC Wednesday from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope you play next week!

12 thoughts on “A Xenial visit

  1. Thanks for the handy sources for words. I especially like the last source. I wonder how the xanthometer came to be invented. Was it so hard to say what color lake or sea water is? As you can see, I verily enjoyed your post. Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. X is such a challenge – yet it brings out the creativity and resourcefulness of the wonderful people who make ABC Wednesday the fun that it is! Loved the fun photo – great to see somebody else shares the fun side of life! (Check out my Boo Post!)
    Thanks fo r being part of the fun
    Denise
    ABC Team

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

