So far so good

It’s January 3rd and so far so good.

I haven’t broken any resolutions yet mainly because I haven’t made any. Never do. Not because I don’t have room for improvement…Lord knows I certainly do. But because I’ve made them, and seen them made, only to be cast aside by the end of January because the messiness of life got in the way. I expect this year to be no different.

I do think that there is value in looking back at the year that is gone and assessing/reassessing the life we’ve been given. Leslie at Coffee Pearls and Grace provided the framework for an exercise I think will help me take a look at where I’ve been and where I may be going this year.

Questions for a New Year’s Reflection

1. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

NOT getting the job of my dreams. (Sorry for the plagiarism, Leslie, but it applied to me too.)
Desire versus reality.

2. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

Getting to watch Peanut transform from a cuddly baby into an independent little person of her own.
Freeze frame.

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?

There are two this year. 1) Having Army Wife/Guy and Peanut live with us longer than expected. 2) Watching my youngest spread her wings and fly.
The beginning of the end.
New beginnings, Florida style.

4. What was an unexpected obstacle?

There are two this year. 1) Having Army Wife/Guy and Peanut live with us longer than expected. 2) Watching my youngest spread her wings and fly.

5. Pick three words to describe 2010.

Unexpected. Exhausting. Blessed. In that order.
Bittersweet goodbye.

6. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

I’d like to think I evolved into a more understanding wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend. To see others in the light of the struggle they are going through, and try not to judge. Still a work in progress.

7. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

That simply because I *feel* a certain way, it may or may not be the best thing to act on those feelings. Raw emotions have few filters and can cause massive problems if not kept in check. Controlling my emotions does not discount them. Keeping a firm grip on them while being grounded in reality and self control is the way emotional maturity is achieved. Again, a work in progress.
An ordinary day.

8. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

I’m discovering what it is to be an authentic Christian and not get sucked into *religion.* To strip out the legalism and traditionalism, and focus on the basic tenants that were set down in the first century.
Putting it into perspective.

9. In what way(s) did you grow physically?

I’m not sure if or how I “grew” physically this past year. Some of my clothes are now too big (SCORE!) but what I lost in weight, I also lost in strength. Age is taking it’s toll and I’ve found I’m ill-prepared to handle some of these changes. Definitely something to address in 2011.
My own personal summer.

10. What was the most enjoyable part of your work?

Discovering you can teach an old dog new tricks.
I’m on a horse.

11. What was the most challenging part of your work?

Learning how to put together a website.
This site serves as the link for this one!

12. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

Worrying.

13. What was the best way you used your time this past year?

Praying. I’m learning that nothing positive of any consequence happens without it.

14. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

This past year was full of challenges, financial as well as emotional. I learned that in the middle of all the worrying, complaining, crying and hand-wringing, there are blessings. But you must look for them and not discount their value simply because they don’t fit with the plan you have for life. Doors close. Windows of opportunity open. It’s true that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Struggles do a good job of reducing life to what is most important. And what becomes important will tell you a lot about yourself.
Personal epiphany. (Okay, this one is from 2009, but it applies every year)

May we all have a prosperous 2011…whatever that looks like for you!

9 thoughts on “So far so good

  1. I love your reflection! Especially #8… I think far too few people actually consider the difference between authentic Christianity and a more legalistic approach to religion. I think this realization, alone, qualifies 2010 as a good year for you! 🙂 Glad you could use the questions!

    Like

  2. Very nice reflections. Sometimes it’s good to look back and find joys you had forgotten although you may also find sorrows. The trick, I guess, is to focus on the joys.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

