B is for Birth Day

Wel­come to Round 8 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nes­bitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) begin­ning with the des­ig­nated letter are selected and woven into a post.

This time around, I’ll be taking each letter and pairing it with a per­sonal expe­ri­ence or life lesson; hope­fully with a photo, but I’m not promising anything. When thinking about B-day, I thought of babies, belief, BFFs…and then the answer was oh so obvious.

Birth Day

Yes, today, Wednesday, January 26th is my birth day. Some of you already know how old this day makes me, but for those that don’t, here are some clues to get you at least in the right decade.

  • I wore a POW bracelet in junior high school
  • I was in elementary school when Beatlemania hit America
  • At a tween, I was too young to attend Woodstock
  • I cruised around in high school to The Beach Boys (the original group) on 8-track tapes
  • I watched the Apollo 11 moon landing
  • I had a collection of troll dolls
  • Twiggy was a fashion icon
  • I watched American Bandstand religiously, along with Rowen and Martin’s Laugh In, I Dream of Jeanie, My Favorite Martian and Bewitched
  • I didn’t grow up with a microwave, cordless phone or TV remote control
  • In high school, I listened to Paul Simon come up with 50 ways to leave his lover while Wings played silly love songs.
  • I saw the original releases of Grease, Saturday Night Fever, Animal House and Sound of Music
  • My first car was a Pontiac LeMans, green with a landau top with only a radio
  • I saw the Kansas City Chiefs play in Municipal Stadium, at 18th and Vine

Well, you get the general idea. My, how the world has changed. OMG, how I’ve changed. I’d like to think for the better, but that remains to be seen. I certainly don’t feel as old as the calendar says I am. But, then, who defines how one should feel at any given age anyway? 🙂

I leave ABC Wednesday with an adorable photo of a little one-year-old baby and my her parents.

To find more ABC Wednesday fun from around the globe, click the logo in my sidebar. Hope to see you next week!

9 thoughts on “B is for Birth Day

  1. Happy birthday! Well, you’re younger than I am, because I was in college when Paul Simon’s Still Crazy album came out. We BOTH were in elementary school when the Beatles hit, tho you could have been in kindergarten and I was in 6th grade. I was a teenager who couldn’t go to Woodstock (I DID ask!)
    So I’m guessing you’re 53, give or take a year. Definitely over 50, and probably not 55.
    On behalf of the ABC Wednesday team, welcome, and thanks for participating! – ROG

    Like

  2. Oh my! I believe you are younger than I am too, but shows like American Bandstand (which I watched in high school) were around for a few years, so I’m not sure how much younger. I’ll go along with Roger’s guess.

    Like

  3. Love your list of birthday age hints. I’m guessing you’re about the same age as my parents, which would put you right in the range of Rogers educated guess. I love the photo of you with your folks. What a cutie.

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday….better late than never. 🙂 Hope you had a great day. And no I won’t be guessing your age since I am not familiar with any of the clues. But interestingly your day of birth is celebrated in my country as our Republic Day and we have a grand parade and all.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

