I is for Identity

Wel­come to Round 8 of ABC Wednesday. The meme was started by Mrs. Denise Nes­bitt, and people from all over the world come together to play and share their entries. Each week word(s) begin­ning with the des­ig­nated letter are selected and woven into a post.

For this round, I’ll be taking each letter and pairing it with a per­sonal expe­ri­ence or thought on life in general. Today is I-day and I stands for Identity. There are many tools you can use to assess yourself. For example, I’m a:

ENFP on the Meyer Briggs Personality Test. That means,

As an ENFP, your primary mode of living is focused externally, where you take things in primarily via your intuition. Your secondary mode is internal, where you deal with things according to how you feel about them, or how they fit in with your personal value system.

ENFPs are warm, enthusiastic people, typically very bright and full of potential. They live in the world of possibilities, and can become very passionate and excited about things. Their enthusiasm lends them the ability to inspire and motivate others, more so than we see in other types. They can talk their way in or out of anything. They love life, seeing it as a special gift, and strive to make the most out of it.

Except on Mondays. All bets are off on Mondays.

A High S/I on the DISC Profile

Influence: Optimistic & Outgoing. High I’s are “people people” who like participating in teams, sharing ideas, and energizing and entertaining others

Steadiness: Sympathetic & Cooperative. High S’s are helpful people who like working behind the scenes, performing in consistent and predictable ways, and being good listeners.

Sounds like a contradiction in terms, but that could also describe me.

I’m also a daughter, sister, friend, wife, mom, grandmom, employee and teacher. Add to that, a graphic designer, amateur photographer and blogger. I’m a Christian. I have numerous public profiles from Facebook to Twitter to Flickr to LinkedIn to WordPress…except on Blogger where, many times when commenting, I’m reduced to a profile that won’t link to anything I want it to.

I tell my students at the end of their capstone projects that what you do never defines who you are.

So exactly who (or what), am I?

I think this might sum it up best.

No, it’s not a gecko or an iguana…it’s a chameleon.

For more Is from around the world, click the logo in my sidebar.

 

16 thoughts on “I is for Identity

  1. Always interesting how the tests work out, I know they are quite scientific but it always seems like magic. I was once employed by a company who used Meyer Briggs but somehow they missed doing me. I used to like ducking the test whenever they suggested I did it. Eventually one of the manager’s I worked for was so curious as to what I was I weakened and completed it. The only thing I remember about the profile was that it said I was over optimistic, which up until then I though was a good thing, LOL.

    Like

  2. Lisa, I just dropped in on this site and am just learning the ropes so today, for me, I can still be ignorant because I am lost in translation here. Anyway, I enjoyed reading your input and found it quite informative (two additional i words…) Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

