Creative Exchange: April showers bring May storms

April was wet. So far, May’s not much better. When it’s not drizzling, it’s storming. Last Friday’s storm front ripped the flags right off our flagpole…topper, flags, rope and all. But, 65mph wind will do that. We went from 90s on Wednesday to 50s on Friday. The weekend was in the 40s, and there were frost warnings the last two nights. Ahhhhh, Spring is Missouri.

But, between the raindrops, I’ve been busy in the yard with my camera. With no Peanut to obsessively take pictures of this year, my attention turns to things like…..


Marigolds.


Redbud trees.


The ever-popular hummer.


Dwarf Lilac bushes.


Holly bushes.


Gerber Daisies


Clematis vines.


Chives. Which have been known to grow profusely in dark garages over the winter.


And the Cardinals that stuck around after winter.

There you have it. The 2011 Spring Lawn and Garden Tour. Please come again.

But wait! I have one more that caught my attention and sparked my imagination for a Creative Exchange contender. When I took this I had no idea if it would really come out the way my eye was seeing it. When I saw it on the big screen, I immediately thought there could easily be fairies hiding under the umbrellas to stay out of the rain. You just have to look closely and use your imagination.

Sub­mitted for The Cre­ative Exchange | Lisa Gordon Photography

 

7 thoughts on “Creative Exchange: April showers bring May storms

  1. These are fantastic Lisa!! I especially love the hummingbird. I have never been able to successfully photograph one of these guys. Maybe this year.
    Weather here is the same, but the highest temp we’ve seen has been 70ish (maybe!). Sure hope it changes soon.

    Thank you so much for taking us on this wonderful tour at The Creative Exchange this week.

    Have a great evening my friend!

    lisa.

    Like

  2. Beautiful. I am, of course, wholly envious of your humming bird visitors. How I wish there were some here. And the red cardinals – how lovely.
    We’ve had so little rain here that we’re already worried about a drought and I’ve planted my summer garden with bullet proof plants like nasturtium and succulents. I can’t believe I’m saying this but on the days we have a slight drizzle it’s actually nice to think of the good it will do in the garden. What a pity we can’t somehow swap weather when needed!

    Like

  3. We’re drenched here too. Your garden tour is delightful – you have many beautiful photos here. I really love that last shot! Here’s hoping for an extended period of better weather!

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

