Creative Exchange: Shades of Summer

Well, it’s finally here. Summer. Tipped towards the sun, our temps rise as the days get longer. It was a long, Long, LONG winter and it seemed like the little tryst between Momma Nature and Jack Frost was going to go on forever. Spring, late as she was, seemed to last only about 3 weeks before temps hit the sultry, upper 90s here in Middle Missouri.

Too hot. Too cold. Too much snow. Too wet. Too dry. Too windy. Too humid. Too….too…too.

Why is it we seem to always complain about the weather? Do we have such a narrow comfort zone that we can’t accept a little detour now and then? I tried really hard to adjust my attitude and embrace Snowmeggedon last February as the fantastic event it was. And the frozen frost thing was something I hadn’t seen before, so that was a novel photo opp. On “snow days” from work, I took the opportunity to capture some snow birds at my feeders. After the thaw, I tried to take advantage of the small window of opportunity to enjoy spring blossoms before the wind blew them two states away.

But, every year I have a very hard time embracing the transitional tornado season. Yes, the sheer power of these storms are awesome, but they scare the bejeebers out of me. I have no idea what a bejeeber is, but after this year’s round of tornadic storms, I’m quite certain I don’t have any left in me.

And now…Summer’s here! I wonder how long it will be before I’m complaining about the heat.

Oh wait, I already did that last week.

Sub­mitted for The Cre­ative Exchange | Lisa Gordon Photography

 

11 thoughts on “Creative Exchange: Shades of Summer

  1. You make me smile Lisa!!
    Yup, last week I was complaining about the heat (97 degrees), and today the cold (60 and rain).
    But I have to say that whatever that bejeeber is, tornadoes scare it out of me also, and we have had at least 4 near misses so far this season. We are not even in a tornado-prone area, so I am guessing it may just happen.

    Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful photograph (clematis?) at The Creative Exchange today.

    I wish you a wonderful day!

    lisa.

    Like

  2. Lovely photo! One of my favorite flowers is clematis and this is a great capture.

    Summer is definitely here for us – right now it is 100F at 6:30pm and the entire week is set for more of the same. Being English moving here at the beginning of May in 2004 to be greeted by Tornado season was very scary – this year the storms have been very bad, we got hit by lightening and a very nasty squall the night there were sightings of touchdowns in our area.

    Like

  3. Now experiencing the second of two simply perfect spring days, I won’t say a thing about the weather! This is a beautiful photo of a Clematis blossom! I love the color and detail!

    Like

  4. I’m in SeMo, just south of you in mid Mo, & I’m absolutely w/ you on not having any bejeebers left in me… the tornadoes blew them far far away! LoL! This is the worse Spring I remember, what with the rain, flooding, straight line winds, & tornadoes… YuCk! =0

    I love the color of the flower, though… it’s so pretty! =)

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

