Reflections

Reflection. The first definition Dictionary.com offers is, the act of reflecting or the state of being reflected.

Yes, that’s helpful. Seems like a circular definition to me…but I digress.

Merriam Webster is a little better. With nine definitions to choose from, there’s a little something here for everyone. The process of “folding back” (definition #3) sounds a bit obscure, but like most of our words, reflection originates from the Latin words: re-back and flectere-to bend; meaning remark made after turning back one’s thought on some subject.

Folding back. Perfect sense, yes?

More to the point…you’ve already charged full speed ahead and done something. Before you reload and go charging off again, perhaps you should stop and quietly rethink your actions. Only after assessing what you’ve already done can you hope to move forward in a more positive, effective way…making the decision to keep on the same path or not.

The kicker is trying to figure out which is the right path and which one is the detour.

Sub­mitted for Cre­ative Exchange and Quo­tog­raphy: Reflection

To see all my Quotography inspired posts, click HERE

15 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Perhaps in more instances than we realize, knowing which is the right path and which is the detour doesn’t matter as there are many of each, and we’ll learn from them all.

    Lovely, thoughtful post. Made for circling back.

    Like

  2. Really fantastic post Lisa.
    Truly lots of good stuff to think about here.
    The photograph you have chosen for it is just beautiful!

    I hope you had a great weekend, and are having a wonderful start to your week.

    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

  3. Folding back is a perfect way to describe reflection. As for figuring out the path, if I get down the road a bit and my gut starts churning, I know I’m not where I’m meant to be.

    Like

  4. Lisa, Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I love photography too, as well as a number of other hobbies! Do you ever find yourself sort of overwhelmed with the things you can do.. the number of things you could involve yourself with! Love your beach scene here! Have a super day!

    Like

  5. On those days that life seems to be more of a challenge than I want, closing up and into myself and reflecting is what keeps me sane. Or at least my version of sane. Love your photo and your “reflection”.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

