On second thought….

OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG!

THERE IS A HUUUGGGEEEE SPIDER IN THE LAMP SHADE!

WHO LET THE GIANT ARACHNID IN THE HOUSE?

It’s got to be the first cousin of HP’S Aragog or LOTR’S Shelob!

GET THE EXTERMINATOR!

QUICK!

BEFORE IT ESCAPES WITH THE DOG!

Oh, it’s not a spider after all, is it?

Hmmm, it sure looked like one at first glance.

But as you can see, it’s not.

It’s only shadows playing off the inside of the lamp. But it certainly looks like a spider, doesn’t it?

Now, I could choose to stick to my first impression and insist there’s a spider inside the lampshade, despite logic and evidence to the contrary.

But, I would be wrong. And I would look pretty darn silly insisting there was a spider there, wouldn’t I?

How silly we also look when we choose to continue to cling to impressions we’ve formed about people and circumstances when logic and evidence show us something different. Just like I would look silly clinging to my opinion when shown how the lamp casts its shadow to produce a “spider,” when we refuse to accept or acknowledge evidence that should change our mind about something, we look equally silly.

Arachnids are not taking over my house.

The dog is safe.

In fact, none of the fears associated with my initial reaction are going to happen.

Perhaps a lesson we’d be wise to remember.

And to keep the doors closed. 🙂

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “On second thought….

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

