Quotography: Texture and a Creative Exchange

One of the goals in life is to try and be in touch with one’s most personal themes
…the values, ideas, styles, colors that are the touchstones of one’s own individual life,
its real texture and substance.

~ Gloria Vanderbilt

Texture was a hard one this week. Not that I didn’t find quotes about texture I liked, I just couldn’t pair them with a photo I thought was relative.

But, as you can see, I persevered and !Voila! Yesterday’s afternoon of digging in the dirt to plant daffodils and hyacinths gave me lots of time to wander around in my mind, which is always a dangerous activity. And, thanks to my smartphone camera, I usually find something to shoot……….just in case.

Why did I choose this shot of a hyacinth bulb, you ask? Because it’s cool.

Okay, seriously, while I was digging what seemed to be a gajillion holes and dropping bulbs into them, I noticed they all had thin, dry papery layers. If you peel away the layers you finally get to the actual bulb which holds the springtime flower deep down in its core. BTW, hyacinth layers are suppose to be toxic in their natural form so it’s best to handle them with gloves.

And then my mind escaped the confines of manual labor. Unfortunately it left my body to do all the hard stuff.

Ogres are like onions, they have layers.
–Shrek

Layers. We’re all made up of layers. The very core of our being is surrounded by layer upon layer. And we put them there. Sometimes they’re there for protection. Sometimes they’re used to cover up parts we don’t want to show others. Sometimes they’re just layers that have served their purpose, and need to be removed before the core can exposed. Sometimes our layers are toxic and others need to wear gloves while helping us find fertile ground where we can grow and bloom.

But they are part of us. They make us who we are.

If we dig deep enough, peeling back all the layers, we find our core. The very essence of our life and who we are. Exactly who God created us to be. When we take time to really look at our layers, we get a better idea of the touchstones that impact our life. Our layers will show us how to determine the quality or genuineness of our life.

The amazing thing about bulbs, layers and all, is that when you look at them, they look dead. They’re all cracked, dry and lifeless. It’s only after a period of darkness and nourishing surroundings can they burst out of the ground and bloom abundantly.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.
I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

~John 10:10

Submitted for Quotography and Creative Exchange
 

 

11 thoughts on “Quotography: Texture and a Creative Exchange

  1. Okay, now you’ve done it my friend.
    I am speechless.
    Really, I don’t even know what to say, except for the fact that this is so meaningful, and truly a beautiful piece of writing.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    Thank you also for being so kind to share this at The Creative Exchange this week.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    lisa.

    Like

  2. Beautiful writing and great message. I did not know hyacinth bulbs are toxic…thanks for sharing that as I am debating on whether or not to transplant my flowers this fall.(I usually don’t bother to put on gloves, now I will!)

    Like

  3. It is those layers that make us so interesting. It is the layers that peel away to reveal more of us that make us surprising. It is people like you, who use their cameras and their words so wisely, that are the spice of the earth.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

