The lesson of the palm tree?

 

Texture by Jay Hilgert stained concrete 5

Can you believe there are quotes specifically about palm trees? I couldn’t either! When I found out the Quotography theme this week was trees, my thoughts went immediately to autumn trees with their fabulous colors or winter trees with branches gracefully arching under the weight of snow. But then I thought about all the other kinds of trees there are and, on a whim, decided to let Google find me some tree quotes. And I was very specific in my search by putting palm in there just to see what she would return back to me.

I’ve always liked quotes about trees taking deeper roots when the winds blow. If roots run deep, there’s a better chance of surviving the storm or a drought. But this quote seems to approach life’s burdens a bit differently. It seems to say, even if your root system is shallow (like a palm tree), you can still be strong if you reach upwards when life becomes difficult.

What we’re reaching for will vary from person to person. But for those of faith, upwards means reaching for the source of our strength, regardless of the depth of our roots.

He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
he drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
from my foes, who were too strong for me.
~Pslam 18:16-17

Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.
~Psalm 91:14

So maybe the lesson of the palm tree is to look upwards and just hang on!

Sub­mitted for Quo­tog­raphy and Cre­ative Exchange.
   

 

 

9 thoughts on “The lesson of the palm tree?

  1. Wow! You sure found a beauty here Lisa, in both the photograph and the quote.
    Would not have guessed that the quote was about a palm tree, and what a wonderful analogy.

    Thank you so very much for sharing with us today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful evening my Friend!

    lisa. xo

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

