L is for Life

Texture by Kim Klassen Cafe: Little Things

My selection today is pulling double duty…once over at  Kim Klassen Cafe’s Texture Tuesday: the Soft Edition; and once over at ABC Wednesday, where it’s L-week.

Do you believe in miracles? We banter the M-word around so cavalierly most of the time that I think we may have lost sight of it’s meaning. According to Webster, the word means, an effect or extraordinary event in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause.

Do you believe miracles have happened in the past, do happen now, and will happen in the future?

It may not appear that Webster’s definition applies to this quote, but when you really think about it, isn’t life miracle in and of itself? Sure, we all know the physiology, biology and chemistry behind living things, but when you get right down to it, isn’t it a miracle that out of all the heavenly bodies in all the galaxies we’ve discovered, our planet is the only one suitable for sustaining life as we know it?

Do you take life on this blue marble for granted, or do you look at it with awestruck wonder?

Submitted for  Texture Tuesday: Soft and ABC Wednesday
 

11 thoughts on “L is for Life

  1. I do believe in miracles, actually. But the trick is that too many people feel THEIR version of what’s supposed to happen doesn’t – I have some direct knowledge of this – then it gets problematic.

    Like

  2. The older I get the less I take the world we live in for granted. There’s beauty and wonder everywhere, often in unexpected places. Is there anything softer or more ethereal than a dandelion head gone to seed? I think not. Beautiful photograph.

    Like

  3. Definitely awestruck wonder.
    Life is truly one wonderful miracle in itself.
    Sending you wishes for a beautiful evening, and a wonderful Easter week, my Friend.
    xo

    Like

  4. I do walk like a zombie unaware of the miracles of life, but periodically, something of beauty will wake me up from my slumber. I think that is where daily reflection kicks in–allows me to be more grounded.

    Like

  5. Awestruck wonder, mixed with regret that we as a species have done so much to foul the planet. It seems nice out in the country, but try setting your tap water on fire in a small town. I sometimes wonder how the Creator views us, messing up our domain… sorry to be cynical, and I still hold hope (as an activist) that we can turn it around, but the green of the grass is not as important to rich people as the green of money and of envy (greed).

    You have a lovely blog; found you at ABC. Actually attaching funny poem, so how much of a cynic am I, realllllly? Hmmmmm. Peace, Amy Barlow Liberatore
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/04/07/loathsome-lothario-abc-wednesday/

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

