A rose by any other name…is still perfection

Texture by Kim Klassen Cafe: confusion

LeAnne, over at Photos by LeAnne, is having a birthday, today! And since the birth flower for June is a rose, we’re going to fill Flower Art Friday with bouquets of roses to help celebrate her special day.

I don’t have any roses in my gardens anymore. I tried growing bush-type roses thinking they were hardier, but the black spot disease was rampant and they never recovered. I remember my mom’s rose garden…hybrid tea roses lining the backyard walkway. The Peace roses were my favorite. I also remember Tropicana roses in the mix. The truth is I just don’t have time to baby any plant in the garden. Once it’s planted, it’s pretty much live or die. I’ll water and occasionally hit it with some Miracle Grow, but other than that, the plant is on its own. Harsh and heartless I know. But until I retire, that’s how it’s going to be. I’m doing good to get the patio and hanging pots watered every couple of days.

However, I love it when roses show up in a vase with a pretty ribbon and sweet note to go along with them. Yeah, like this one.

Linking up with Flower Art Fridayphotosbyleanne
20 thoughts on “A rose by any other name…is still perfection

  1. Oh my gosh! How I love the processing you did with this. Just beautiful. Thanks for the birthday wishes and for sharing your rose with me at Flower Art Friday. 🙂

    Like

  2. Just lovely. I tried roses when we first moved here, especially hybrid teas, but I grew weary of replacing them every couple of years because our unpredictable weather is unkind to them so now I have a couple of rugosa bushes and call it good.

    Like

  3. I know the pain of caring for roses mine get black spot every year in the middle of Summer, a milk spray is the only cure. Love your edit and yes it is similar to mine. Cheers

    Like

  4. This is such an unusual coloring and it is just gorgeous! Love your texturing and processing!!! Calling by from LeAnne’s. She will love this rose for sure!

    Like

  5. How pretty. I love multi-colored roses like this one. I like how you muted the edges and left the color in just the center. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

