Happy Anniversary, Women!

Conferring over ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution at National Woman’s Party headquarters, Jackson Place, Washington , D.C. Left to right: Mrs. Lawrence Lewis, Mrs. Abby Scott Baker, Anita Pollitzer, Alice Paul, Florence Boeckel, Mabel Vernon (standing, right).

 

Ninety-three years ago, in 1919,  the House of Representatives passed a proposed Amendment to the Constitution with a 304 to 90 vote:

The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any States on account of sex. The Congress shall have the power by appropriate legislation to enforce the provisions of this article.

Ninety-two years ago today on August 26, 1920, the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution became law, and women could vote…just in time for the presidential election.

Happy Birthday to the Women’s Suffrage! But since I simply cannot outdo the post I wrote on this back in October of 2012, I ask you take jut a few minutes and go HERE. Perhaps you’ll understand and appreciate what these women fought for so many years ago.

But please come back here and share your thoughts!

9 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary, Women!

  1. Oh, LOVE your new blog look! I recognized some of the women’s pictures in the article, but had forgotten (or never knew) the things they endured to gain us the right to vote.

    Someone also said it’s better to go to the polls and vote for no-one (if you don’t like the choices) than not go at all. So your voice is still heard.

    Like

  2. Because they fought so hard, I will continue to vote. Although I will also continue to feel my vote matters little – or the voted for forget we all exist once they get there.

    Like

  3. I’ve done some stupid things, had embarrassing moments, but the worst was when I went to vote two years ago only to find that I had not managed to properly register after moving (more than a year before).

    On the flip side, it was a wonderful feeling when I went to a caucus (who knew we even had caucuses in primaries in Texas? I didn’t!), I had to bring along my daughter, even though it would be a couple of hours, books and crayons and lovey and registration card.

    Our power is in our voice, even if, like Carol, I’m not sure my voice gets heard in the din. But that’s another matter.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

