Nature's Paintbrush

It’s quite possibly the most wonderful time of the year!

No, it’s not Christmas, although that is definitely a wonderful season.

No, it’s not Spring, although it’s exciting to see the earth wake up with such beautiful colors.

Nope, it’s Autumn. There’s something about Autumn that calms my soul. The time when nature heaves a heavy sigh and begins to get ready for that long winter nap. But before Mom Nature wraps up in a warm, fuzzy blanket, there’s a few brush strokes she’d like to paint for us.

Totally unrelated to the photos….but Entrepreneur is beginning to do reconnaissance on places to retire. This seems to happen right after a trip to see the grand loves….or a particularly stressful week at work (which is pretty much all the time). I’m not panicking yet because it’ll take him years to decide on an area. Only when I think he’s actually ready to pack it up will I get serious about looking at the options.

And my guess is that it won’t be middle Missouri. In fact, it’s doubtful we’ll be in Missouri at all!

Since our kiddos have made it pretty clear they’ll be in the South for the foreseeable future, top contenders are Georgia, South Carolina, coastal Florida, Tennessee or Kentucky. All of which I think are reasonable options.

So, we’ll see what happens when the time comes.

But for now, I’ll continue to marvel at nature’s stunning paintbrush in my own little corner of the world.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Nature's Paintbrush

  1. Our colors came during the rain and the leaves fell as a result. Same thing every year. At least the bushes and groundcover wild plants still are bright. Glad you’re enjoying your season and captured some things I’m not likely to see.

    We started talking about the move to warmer climes too. I need to stay close to the ocean and RM can’t stand the humidity. He loves the desert and the heat and dry air are suffocating for me. Catch-22 but we’re not even remotely close to being able to retire & much will change between now and then.

    Like

  2. I’m a New Englander by birth and a Midwesterner at the moment. I’ve been lucky in both places to spend fall surrounded by dazzling colors. It is the season that makes me stop and gasp at nature’s bounty. I’m looking now at the sugar maple in the woods behind my house exploding into crimson. Just gorgeous – and your post has inspired me to take my camera outside to capture these trees at the peak of their beauty.

    Like

  3. More beauty! Thank you so much for sharing – I never get too much of the autumn colors. As to where to finally live out your lives – I need seasons, but I also would like very short winters and summers not so hot. Really, where we are is a good place – winters really aren’t bad, but they can be long. Ideal would be to have a second place on the coast to visit periodically. As soon as I win the lottery, for which I never buy tickets.

    Like

  4. My goodness, these are beautiful photographs, Lisa!
    It really is a wonderful time of year, and at least here in NY, the leaves have stayed on the trees much longer than usual, so we get to enjoy for a bit longer.

    Any one of the states you mentioned sounds like a great place to be, and I can surely understand wanting to be closer to you kids and those beautiful grandloves.
    xo.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

