Silence


We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness.
God is the friend of silence.

~Mother Teresa

The theme for this week’s Quotography is Silence. And there is a lot of silence around 7am on a Sunday morning.

If you didn’t know if was happening, you might have slept right through it. Or never noticed it. But in the silence of late Saturday night and early Sunday morning, the earth was passing through a stream of dust left over by Halley’s Comet. It’s called the Orionid meteor shower and occurs every October. I never saw anything last year, and stayed up past midnight hoping to see some last Saturday night. I even set my alarm to get up at dark-thirty and watch the sky Sunday morning. It wasn’t until I went to get the paper at 7am before church that I was awed by meteor trails all over the sky above our house.

It reinforced the realization that we are only small, small specks in this vastness of the universe.

Linking up with Quo­tog­raphy
My Button

8 thoughts on “Silence

  1. spot on, I say
    !
    I’ve collected a few of Mother Teresa’s quotes because I admire her so much. In fact, I got one for Christmas that hangs on my hall wall near my front door. Here it is:
    “I always know God won’t give me more than I can handle but there are times I wish he didn’t trust me so much.” Next to this hangs a photo of Pope John XXIII. I found the photo on-line.
    `cheers~

    Like

  2. Lovely photo with perfect words. Without some silence, I think I would lose what sanity I have. Now, if I could just get the pets to understand there are times they need to not yell at me!

    Like

  3. Wow, that’s beautiful. I’d never heard of this and wish I had, especially for the sake of my astronomy-obsessed five-year-old.

    I do think Sunday mornings hold a particular brand of silence. I went for a run yesterday morning and was struck by how the deer and I seemed to be the only things stirring.

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness! I can’t believe you actually got a picture of the comet trailings. I am so like you. Everytime there is some event in the sky, such as this, I watch, and wait, watch and wait. I set my alarm. I know it is happening, but I don’t ever really get to see. You’re so lucky, and thanks for letting us see it, too!

    I love the quote with the photo, and I really like that you give some inspirational thought to go with it. I love the silence. It truly is where you find God!

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

