Y is for Yahweh

What do we call the Maker of the Universe? How would you address the thank you note? Not sure this is covered in any of the etiquette books. Emily Post and Miss Manners are oddly quiet on this topic.

In other words, what is God’s name? While it’s true we simply call him God….many times in inappropriate ways…have you ever wondered what his name actually is?

Throughout the old and new testaments, the names used for God tells us a little about his personality and gives us a better idea who he is. A few of God’s nicknames are:

  • El Shaddai (Lord God Almighty)
  • El Elyon (The Most High God)
  • Adonai (Lord, Master)
  • Jehovah Nissi (The Lord My Banner)
  • Jehovah-Raah (The Lord My Shepherd)
  • Jehovah Rapha (The Lord That Heals)
  • Jehovah Shammah (The Lord Is There)
  • Jehovah Tsidkenu (The Lord Our Righteousness)
  • Jehovah Mekoddishkem (The Lord Who Sanctifies You)
  • El Olam (The Everlasting God)
  • Elohim (God)
  • Qanna (Jealous)
  • Jehovah Jireh (The Lord Will Provide)
  • Jehovah Shalom (The Lord Is Peace)
  • Jehovah Sabaoth (The Lord of Hosts)

The one we may be most familiar with is Yahweh. Yahweh means “I AM”, and in Exodus 3:13-15, God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM; thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

He is the I AM, not to be confused with the I WAS or the I WILL BE. Simply, the I AM.
Period. We would be wise to think seriously about what that concept really means.

But one thing is for sure, when God calls our name, everything changes.

The bible is full of stories of people who had a personal encounter with Yahweh. When that happened, the experience was usually accompanied by great shock and awe. One thing they all had in common is, when God revealed himself, their lives changed.

Although God doesn’t usually use his “outside voice” when he talks to us these days, let there be no mistake that, whatever name he’s using, he’s still communicating.

Linking up with ABC Wednesday

 

8 thoughts on “Y is for Yahweh

  1. I like Roger’s “Yo, God!” I usually just say “Hi, God. It’s me, Leslie.” But I do know that we hear a lot of those other names for God in some of the hymns and Christmas songs. I kinda like the “El Shaddai” name! Hope you had a great New Year’s.

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Like

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog
    and may come back later in life. I want to encourage
    continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

    my site; webpage (Shelley)

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

