Weekend wisdom from the backyard

wet titmouse72
Texture by Kim Klassen: Sybil; Multiply blending mode at 60%

Isn’t this the sorriest, little, wet Tufted Titmouse you’ve ever seen? Mother Nature’s recent hissy fit dumped 10 inches of wet snow on middle Missouri and kept me at home with little to do except blade the driveway….and watch my backyard birds. Entrepreneur had taken off to balmy southern Oklahoma on a business trip where the temps were in the 40s and 50s.

As my birds jockeyed for position at the feeders, I’m sure they wondered what their future held since their lives had turned a bit harsh. While they do what they can to survive bad weather, I wonder if they ever lose hope of sunnier days…like we do. Or do they continue to hold on to the dreams of better days ahead?

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. ~Hebrews 11:1

Linking up with Quotography: Hope

My Button

 

 

8 thoughts on “Weekend wisdom from the backyard

  1. Poor little guy – I think I would not want to be a bird. When I lived in the Hudson Valley in New York, the tufted titmouse was one of my favorite birds.

    Like

  2. Both a wonderful photo AND quote by Langston Hughes, Lisa!

    I always feel so concerned for the little sparrows in the park where I live during the colder winter months because they look like such delicate little birds. So I try to get out there once a week to feed them.

    Have a great weekend!

    X

    Like

  3. What a lovely little bird! I have no feeders, but trees near my windows that offer berries which seem to entice all kinds of feathered friends. I have no idea what they are (other than bluejays and the occasional cardinal), but I love seeing them light, nibble, and take off again.

    Like

  4. Oh this poor little one!
    He does look like he’s had a tough time with the snow.
    It’s really time for it to go away now, so that these little creatures can build their nests.

    I hope you’ve had a wonderful day, my friend!
    xo.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

