Adopting the patience of nature

www-patience72
Texture by Kim Klassen: Grey Day | one layer Soft Light 100%; one layer Hard Light 35%

Adopt the pace of nature; her secret is patience.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I don’t think I’m a very patient person. From time to time I display great feats of exceptional patience, but many times I feel it’s forced behavior, which may not really be a bad thing. After all, flying off the handle, temper tantrums or knee-jerk reactions don’t usually result in happy endings.

This winter has been a test of patience. Its beginning wasn’t too bad; even January was tolerable…as winters go. February was a bit sketchy with two storms dumping about 20 inches of snow over 5 days. And then, when we all thought Old Man Winter had made his exit, we were the recipient of another 9 inches of snow on March 24th. And that’s simply too late in the season if you ask me.

But what can I do about it? Nothing. Nada. So I guess Mom Nature has another lesson to teach me before my spring flowers are ready to make an appearance; that no matter how impatient I get, there’s no point in rushing what I have no control over. Everything happens in its own time, in its own season and for its own reason.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to rush an outcome. At the time, my desire for a quick fix appears to be a stellar idea in my own mind. After all, why drag something out when, with adopting just a few of my well-meaning recommendations, it could all be better…aka…the way I want it to be?

I tend to forget there may be a reason things take as long as they do to materialize. And just because I think something should be a certain way right now, doesn’t mean that’s the best alternative for the life lesson to be learned. I’m not privy to the master plan, and while it’s sometimes helpful and necessary to voice my opinions, in the end I just have to accept it may not be the right time for a change.

That decision is above my pay grade.

So, in the meantime, I’ll try and adopt nature’s stance and be patience for winter to end and usher in another spring to lift my spirits and warm my outlook.

It happens every year.

In its own time.

Even though I may not like it.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.“As the heavens are higher than the earth,so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” ~Isaiah 55:8-9

Linking up with Water World Wednesday
Water World Wednesday

8 thoughts on “Adopting the patience of nature

  1. You write the “bestest” posts, my friend!
    Mom Nature is not letting go of us here either, and I am trying so hard to be patient, but it’s APRIL for goodness sake!

    Like

    • Awww, thank you for the kind words! Hopefully the worst is behind us now. April and freezing temps don’t really go together, do they? 🙂

      Like

  2. Lisa, that photo is faaaaaaaaaaabulous! OMG…it’s stunning! As well as the quote from Mr. Emerson.

    Like you, I am NOT a patient person. The only things I’m patient with are children, the elderly, and animals. But on a day to day basis, I have ZERO patience.

    You are so spot on in sharing this….

    “I tend to forget there may be a reason things take as long as they do to mate­ri­alize. And just because I think some­thing should be a cer­tain way right now, doesn’t mean that’s the best alter­na­tive for the life lesson to be learned.”

    I find that there is always a higher purpose for why something may take longer to manifest than what I thought it would. And usually it’s because I still have lessons to learn.

    Great post, my friend! And thank you for the reminder.

    ” adopt nature’s stance and be patience.”

    Hope you had a FAB day!

    X

    Like

  3. Practicing patience is so much harder than faking patience, especially during the 9 months of winter. Here’s hoping the weather eventually turns around and starts behaving more civilly. I’ve had enough too.

    Like

  4. Good luck! Patience! It can be so hard. Every now and then circumstances prevent me from pushing things along and I am amazed in the end (sometimes a year or more later) how well that worked out for me.

    Like

  5. chilling photo! Spring here has been slow to arrive, but I did see a few crocuses coming up in the 38′ temperatures….I too tend to be impatient with slow things: people espec. …. I try to take deep breaths and think about how much worse things could be…..

    Like

  6. It appears that Mother Nature has sent the weather we usually have in March and April to the east, where we are happily sharing it with all of you out that way. Okay, so I’m not really happy you’re getting the weather, but I am very happy that this year we are having (at least for the moment) an early spring. This year, I really really really am happy for that! But I am sad you are having to be patient. That’s a very hard thing.

    Like

  7. Wow looking at your picture I wish we could have at least 1/8 of the temperature in that picture. It’s very hot here in the Philippines the highest we got here was 93F and the least is 83F that is too hot for me coming from Michigan. And summer is not over yet and there are many things that we do not have control and patience is not my forte too hehe. For now, what I can do is to accept the fact that I am here in the Philippines for a vacation and just enjoy and have fun even if sometimes I already wanted to pack my things and go back to Michigan lol!!

    Thanks in joining Water World Wednesday Kim,USA

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

