Where the wild things are

wild sunflower72

Live in the sunshine, swim in the sea,
drink the wild air.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Doesn’t this look like a really bad hair day?

That, or it’s about to bust open in dramatic fashion to reveal our second giant sunflower. Can’t you just feel the energy building up behind those petals; like it’s ready to explode at any moment?

In any case, when I saw it, I busted out laughing at its wild and reckless abandon appearance.

I found myself oddly attracted to it…maybe because we all have a little bit of a hidden desire to drink that wild air for ourselves!

Linking up with Quotography
Quotography

11 thoughts on “Where the wild things are

  1. Love it, I have not seen a closed sunflower. Re your comment I only added a vignette the leave was above me so I was shooting with the sky as the background, I am always surprised by the results. Cheers

    Like

  2. It reminds me of maybe a character in a child’s television show…or even the cookie monster on Sesame Street, but I can just imagine how pretty it will be once it opens to reveal it’s beauty. Perfect…

    Like

  3. “Doesn’t this look like a really bad hair day?”

    Bwhahahahahaha! OMG Lisa, that was HYSTERICAL!

    Great photo! Don’t ya just love sunflowers!

    Happy Tuesday, my friend!

    X

    Like

  4. What a gorgeous capture! I can almost feel the energy bursting out of the screen (even if I have to admit that the wisps around the center do look quite a bit like my hair around my face in the summer humidity). 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Lisa, I almost used an Emerson quote; he has so many good ones. That is a beautiful photo of a not so beautiful sunflower. I love they way you wrote the quote.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

