Star quality

Hummer star72
texture by Kim Klassen: elevate 100% soft light

It is written on the arched sky; it looks out from every star. It is the poetry of Nature; it is that which uplifts the spirit within us.
~John Ruskin

Finally! Finally, there are hummers at my feeders. I think they’re migrating southward because they know what’s probably already in the northlands. In any case, I got to spend some time over the weekend trying to capture them with my camera.

Hummers have always fascinated me. I think they’re one of nature’s most puzzling creatures. There are so many things that defy the odds of survival, hummers being one of them. And they are one of the most inspiring of nature’s wonders.

And nature is always inspiring, isn’t it? When we divert our attention from the everyday drama of our lives, nature puts on an amazing show for us…and tends to put things back into perspective. From the stars in the heavens to the teeniest bug under our feet, the intricacies and complexities of everything around us are astounding….if we will only take the time to pay attention.

Renown scientist, Steven Hawking, thinks, “We are just an advanced breed of monkeys on a minor planet of a very average star. But we can understand the Universe. That makes us something very special.”

While Mr Hawking and I differ on many theological topics, I do agree that we’re very special. And, minor or not,  we live on a very special planet. 🙂

And that’s uplifting.

LInking up with Quotography, Tuesday Muse and Texture Tuesday
(because I can’t seem to find time for three separate submissions with my crazy schedule.)

QuotographyTuesday Muse

Texture Tuesday

14 thoughts on “Star quality

  1. Oh, Lisa, this is just simply sweet! I seldom get to see hummers in my yard, they fly off too quickly. Love that you caught him sitting in the tree and a sweet pose to the side. Lovely post!!

    Like

  2. Your photo is lovely – you are lucky to have one pose for you (I didn’t think that they ever stopped moving!). I like your post too and the Hawking quote – very interesting.

    Like

  3. Faaaaaaaaaaabulously uplifting and smilie post, Lisa! 🙂

    “And nature is always inspiring, isn’t it? When we divert our atten­tion from the everyday drama of our lives, nature puts on an amazing show for us…and tends to put things back into per­spec­tive.”

    Couldn’t have expressed it any better myself. And it’s funny because I just spent a couple of hours outside; sitting in a park and enjoying nature. I came back fully refreshed and renewed!
    For me, nature is so healing and balancing.

    Gorgeous photo and lovely quote to go with it!

    A dear friend of mine who also blogs, has been posting photos of hummers. Apparently she’s got a TON of them in her back yard right now.

    Thanks for sharing this today, Lisa!

    X

    Like

  4. Nature is always marvelous and always has something to delight us with, even if it a big old frog honking away at the pond. Beautiful work. Cheers

    Like

  5. I only get a few, but can count on the hummers showing up around Mother’s Day. They have been really feeding lately so I’m assuming they’re getting ready to think about heading out. I usually keep the feeder up until it’s colder and no more signs of them. It’s right by my kitchen window so I really get a good view of them. Your picture and quote is great. 🙂

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

