Every green thing bursts into vivid radiance

maple-red

Can you believe this color? Very, very little was done to this shot. I sharpened it and adjusted the tones just a smidge. The leaves of this maple tree literally looked like they were on fire. And then I found a great prose to accompany the shot.

A hidden fire burns perpetually upon the hearth of the world…. In autumn this great conflagration becomes especially manifest. Then the flame that is slowly and mysteriously consuming every green thing bursts into vivid radiance. Every blade of grass and every leaf in the woodlands is cast into the great oven of Nature; and the bright colours of their fading are literally the flames of their consuming. The golden harvest-fields are glowing in the heart of the furnace…. By this autumn fire God every year purges the floor of nature. All effete substances that have served their purpose in the old form are burnt up. Everywhere God makes sweet and clean the earth with fire.
~Hugh Macmillan

Guess what?! I found a new photo meme! It’s called Nurture Photography…because I have soooo much free time. From what I can tell, the challenge is hosted by two women, Kristi, from Live and Love Out Loud, and Rebecca, from Bumbles and Light.

NurtureFall2013Banner2

There are weekly prompts related to the season. I’m getting in on the tail end of Autumn, but hope to participate more during the next challenge. This week, the theme is Red. Perfect timing. But now I must dash over there and link up before it’s too late.

Nuture-Autumn 2013

 

4 thoughts on “Every green thing bursts into vivid radiance

  1. Fall in Virginia has been so very disappointing this year. I did see one maple tree that had turned a beautiful red and yellow, and the leaves that had already fallen made a beautiful carpet underneath. It was in someone’s back yard, and I didn’t think I should take the picture without knocking on their door first.

    You photo is truly beautiful!

    Like

  2. “Can you believe this color? Very, very little was done to this shot.”

    It’s STUNNING, Lisa! Gorgeous color!

    And I love the prose…

    “Then the flame that is slowly and mys­te­ri­ously con­suming every green thing bursts into vivid radi­ance.”

    Don’t ya just LOVE fall? The trees are slowly starting to change a bit here in the north east, but not nearly like where you live.

    What a super photo meme. I look forward to your photos, my friend!

    X

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

