Random Friday Finds for March 21

daff back

In the spring I have counted one hundred and thirty-six different kinds of weather inside of four and twenty hours. 
~Mark Twain

Appropriately, Mark Twain was from Missouri. A state where it’s possible to get a sunburn and frostbite in the same day.

It’s official. I realized this week that I have spring fever. Those 70+F days that tease us into thinking winter is gone has jump started my internal seasonal clock.

* Yesterday was the Spring Equinox in the northern hemisphere. And not a moment too soon as we all emerge winter weary from our parkas and boots. Sadly, weekend temps are slated to drop back into the 40F range. Boo.

* A quick check of the perimeter shows a few promising signs of spring. The daffs and hyacinths are up but not sharing any of their color yet. The redbud tee is also tight-lipped and refusing to swell its buds. But there’s a hint (a very light one) of green in the grass. Or, is it just my imagination? Not sure.

* Peanut and her daddy are spending his spring break from college visiting family in Louisiana. It’s been very, very quiet at our house this week. And as odd as it sounds, I can’t wait for the organized chaos to begin again when she hits the door.

giveblood* I gave blood yesterday afternoon. I’m the Red Cross’s favorite flavor, 0-negative. That means I’m a universal donor for any blood type. Which is great if you’re a person in need of blood. Unfortunately, if I need blood, I can only have 0-neg. I try and get in there as often as I can, and can fill a bag in 7 minutes flat. I have great veins. And, fortunately, am not afraid of needles.

* Then puppers need baths….badly. I did brush them last weekend in the glorious, almost 80F weather. Twix napped in the shade while the puppers jockeyed for position between my feet. They would butt each other out of the way so I could brush them. No joke.

Those are my random finds for the week. Hope yours was a good one.

fridayfindsbutton2  random 5

 

13 thoughts on “Random Friday Finds for March 21

  1. Spring is springing up all over here – for now. I’m taking advantage of this wonderful warmish sunshine to work in the yard, feeling the thrill of being outside without being bundled up. Enjoying it while it lasts, because it is very early for spring to visit us. I will hope your spring arrives soon and stays around.

    Like

  2. Oh, pleeeeeeeease send some of those temps here.
    High today? 27. With wind.
    I think spring forgot about us.

    Kudos to you on giving blood. I don’t mind it either, but I have these teeny tiny little veins, so 7 minutes is unheard of for me. 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend. xo.

    Like

  3. Yes, your description of springtime fits here also. No flowers, no buds, a bit of green flower foliage, and barely a bit of grass green. But, the robins have been busy in the leafless shrubs and trees, singing their songs so that is hopeful! Enjoy your weekend and I know you’ll be happy to have the littles ones home again.

    Like

  4. The weather roller coaster of March. So far, I’ve only seen a few crocus and they weren’t open. Yes, spring keeps teasing us with a day here and there.

    Like

  5. Lisa, I so thought of you today because it was THE MOST beautiful Spring day (and yesterday too)! In fact, I took a bunch of photographs of flowers, which I may be posting on my blog next week.

    However, can you believe that on Tuesday we’re supposed to get snow!?! March can be so freaky with the weather.

    Have a faaaaaaabulous weekend, my friend!

    Gorgeous photo!

    Like

  6. I almost fainted right here on my couch, reading about your giving blood. 7 minutes? I feel light-headed just thinking about that. I have tiny little veins, and hate when I need to have a blood test. But, seriously, I do admire you for doing it 🙂 I have spring fever, too. We should hit 60 tomorrow, then snow in the forecast next week. Happy weekend!

    Like

  7. I’ve never given blood, so I am in awe of those who do….I just don’t think they’d want mine ’cause of the heart meds I’m on. At least that’s what I think, I’ve never checked.

    Our two cats are the same way when I brush them…in fact one of them, she hears the door shut when I get the brush out and before I turn around, she’s there meowing, wanting to be brushed.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

