Can you unplug yourself?

daisy quiet72
Texture by Kim Klassen: Cherish scripted: 100% soft light

 All men’s miseries derive from not being able to sit in a quiet room alone.
~Blaise Pascal

Look around and tell me what you see. Chances are you see people….people plugged into some sort of technology. And that includes yourself since you’re reading this on a computer, tablet or phone.

We’re a plugged in society. The sad fact is we’re never alone. And, the thought of being alone with ourselves scares the bejeezes out of some of us.

Texting, Talking, Pinteresting, Facebooking, Tweeting, Instagramming, Blogging, YouTubing…..there’s never a moment when we don’t have the option of connecting with someone. Even if it’s people we hardly know.

We are bombarded with external messages every day. So much so that when it’s completely quiet, we’re oddly uncomfortable. When was the last time you sat quietly in a room and didn’t look at your phone or computer….or sent a text….or checked your email…or played Words With Friends… or posted a status?

It’s almost impossible.

When our lives revolve around technology, the world comes at us at breakneck speed. It overwhelms us. And the more time we spend *communicating,* the less time we have for quality time with ourselves. When everything is public, there’s less time for the private that allows us a chance to refuel and refresh. The insessant messages of our culture invade our minds and we become nothing more than mouthpieces for whatever is considered popular opinion based on the latest online thread, reality show, movie or video game.

The sad truth is the machines that have enriched our lives so much have failed in teaching us how to make the best decisions on how to use them.

Don’t be afraid to go off the grid from time to time. Read a compelling book. Listen to a piece of beautiful music. Go for a walk in nature. Have an (OMG!) actual face-to-face conversation with someone about a relevant issue. Spend some quiet time to get reacquainted with the real you and your God.

Sometimes the messages we need most don’t come in the form of words.

You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. ~1 Peter 3:4

Linking up with Texture Tuesday, Texture Twist and Life Through the Lens
Texture Tuesday
texture-twist  Life through lens

25 thoughts on “Can you unplug yourself?

  1. Great post, Lisa.
    I actually choose to unplug, quite simply because I do like to be alone sometimes. It’s sort of a recharging thing. I wonder…is it narcissistic to like one’s own company??? 🙂

    Happy day to you, my friend!

    Like

  2. Great, great post Lisa! No iPhone for me, but am on desktop often. I’m happy to have other hobbies though, and I enjoy being alone for several hours, with quietness. Love your quote and spring flower today! Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  3. We are never alone… but that’s a good thing if we keep Him with us each and every day.

    I so agree about technology. It’s a necessary evil these days, but I try not to spend too much time at it. Have a wonderful day, Lisa! xo

    Like

  4. man i am so right there with you about unplugging from time to time. if i start feeling a little overwhelmed or start the comparison game, the first thing i do is step away from social media. really great post. thanks for stopping by to visit my blog today. xo

    Like

  5. A beautiful flower, exquisite composition! Pure delicacy! Floors have more difficulty in a room with people alone! I usually spend much time with myself, too!

    Like

  6. First, I LOVE the photo and quote, Lisa! Stunning photograph!

    Second, FAB post! And it’s ironic you posted this today because I’ve been thinking about this very topic lately.

    “Have an (OMG!) actual face-to-face con­ver­sa­tion with someone about a rel­e­vant issue.”

    OMG is right! And when you do have a face-to-face conversation, people are always holding and looking at their cell phone; checking for messages.

    This is why I don’t have a cell phone and will hold off on getting one for as long as I can because I don’t want it with me all the time and become addicted like so many people are. I mean it’s bad enough I spend as much time on my computer. However, I do time myself and detach from it at certain times of the day and either go for a walk or spend time within nature and just be quiet.

    Wonderful reminder, my friend! Thanks for posting this!

    Like

  7. Hi Lisa, That is an exquisite photo. Daisies are one of my favorite flowers. That is a great quote. You have said it so well…We’re a plugged in society.

    There have been days when I don’t turn on my laptop or look at my phone. If I am not using them, I might have the television on. I rarely just sit quietly by myself, alone with my thoughts. I fall asleep to noise, so that I don’t think. Thinking keeps me awake.

    I never take anything electronic with me when I walk my dogs. On nice afternoons, I could be outside and unplugged for 45 minutes. I am alone in the quiet when I write poetry. But, even then, I sometimes go to my laptop for information.

    Great post 🙂

    Like

  8. It is sad to see how some folks are missing all the beauty as they bury their heads in a mobile device.

    I have held out in becoming addicted to such.

    I do feel for the sons/daughters at sporting events and they make a great play on the field. I’ll notice them looking to catch the eye of mom or dad and sadly, mom or dad is the one who just missed the action due to an important Facebook comment or Tweet.

    Like

  9. Fabulous post, Lisa! And the two quotes are just divine!

    I see people are plugging in even at 6:30 AM when driving their children to school, I make a point to unplug from everything whenever I could use a break.

    Like

  10. I am so impressed with Ron not having a cell phone. Wow! He’s probably one of the last hold-outs. I resisted for quite a while too. I mean, can we even remember not running about, moving about, traveling without one? We used to do it. I love the subject of this post – it IS so essential for our souls and our peace to do so. Isn’t it? And thank you for the beautiful scripture from 1Peter. Perfect.

    Like

  11. I love your post! Yesterday i had lunch with two others and none of us pulled out a cell phone or iPad – we sat and talked (laughed) for a couple of hours and it was so relaxing, recharging.

    Like

  12. I’ve always been a loner and enjoyed my quiet time even as a child. So true what you say about being unplugged. I’m not sure how we survived pre cell phones and technology, but we did. Although, I admit, I’ve been on computer since the early days before windows, and was very inquisitive about it, and I do like technology

    Like

  13. This is a great reminder. I also like how you used a beautiful photo of a daisy for this post. It reminds me of a post I wrote a week or so ago about living a simple life and I used photos I took of daisies.

    I’m a bit of an introvert and just need to unplug at times. I enjoy the silence and being alone.

    Visiting from Life Through the Lens link-up.

    Like

  14. Good, Good post! Just this week I had to take a 45 minute detox bath and pulled up a chair with my laptop to watch a long tutorial. The battery run down when I had 10 minutes to go and my first thought was how can I sit here for 10 minutes? I’ll go crazy, but I didn’t. I miss those still times. I love the quiet but have to be doing something all the time it seems. I’ll be paying more attention to some stillness, I know I can ‘think’ up some good things if I just stop.

    Like

  15. Lisa… you and I are kindred spirits! This line, “The ins­es­sant mes­sages of our cul­ture invade our minds and we become nothing more than mouth­pieces for what­ever is con­sid­ered pop­ular opinion based on the latest online thread, reality show, movie or video game.” Oh my yes!!!! I’m so glad you linked this particular post up, so glad!.

    Like

  16. Pingback: Monday Dialogue… Why I will most likely watch Noah | Four Simply Living

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

