K is for Knowing God

friendship knotIs God a friend or just an acquaintance?

Now, be honest.

Acquaintances are easy relationships. Just a notch above a stranger, they don’t require anything from us. They’re be nice to have around if we need something, but there’s no real commitment to being involved with them outside of acknowledging they’re there. Sometimes, they are simply the people in our lives that fulfill a need at a particular time. Think of them as people we interact with at work or school, but never personally get together with outside of those situations. They could be our banker, florist, co-worker or that Facebook friend from high school we haven’t seen since graduation.

On the other hand, friends are people we want to take time to get to know. A friend cares if they unintentionally hurt us. They stick by us through thick and thin. Friends offer advice, guidance and counseling when needed. We take time to get to know these people on a deeper level because we care about them….and they care about us. We know their likes and dislikes and they know ours too. Forever friends rise of shared experiences and a deep, emotional connection.

But being a forever friend requires commitment. Deep friendships don’t just instantaneously happen. And they’re never one-sided. They take work. They take lots of our time…not just when we happen to have a few free moments with nothing else to do. Being friends means we are an advocate for that person and they are an advocate for us. Being connected with someone in this way requires a time commitment not seen with acquaintances.

Friends go the distance with us no matter how rough it gets. Friends always have our backs. Our closest friends care deeply about us and aren’t shy about trying to bring us back in line when we’ve detoured…even at the expense of making us uncomfortable or angry at their advice.

Adam and God were friends. Eve and God were friends. Moses and God were friends. Noah and God were friends. David and God were friends. Daniel, Jacob, Joseph, Mary Magdeline, sisters Mary and Martha, and Paul were all friends with the living God. They knew God on a personal level and were willing to spend the time needed to further develop that close communion. And their lives were blessed because of their commitment to making that covenant relationship work.

So, I ask again….is God a friend or just an acquaintance? Do we really know God or just know of him?

If we consider him a friend, we feel free to call him up in the middle of the night with a problem that is consuming us. We can speak openly and share our fears, dreams, worries and secrets. We know his likes and dislikes, and he knows ours. We trust he’ll always be there when we need guidance, and trust his advice…even when it’s different from what we think we want to do.

To consider God a friend would mean we believe in him, trust in his guidance and promises, and make time to get to know him on a deeper, more personal level.

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. ~John 15:13
Jesus did just that.

Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. ~James 4:8
God promises to be a true, forever friend to those who seek him.

…for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you. ~Hebrews 13:5
He will go the distance with us no matter how rough it gets. He always has our backs.

But, if he’s only just an acquaintance, we really shouldn’t expect much of anything in return, should we?

Linking up with ABC Wednesday
ABCWed14

11 thoughts on “K is for Knowing God

    • It’s a Friendship Knot sculpture in Los Angelos’ Little Tokyo. I thought it was a perfect representation of *vertical* friendship. 🙂

      Like

  1. I believe God is more than a friend, but difficult to know. I know How God wants us to be. He wants us to act and love like Jesus. God showed a bit of himself in a human like Jesus, and that makes it a bit easier.
    God is so great that it is impossible to know Him thoroughly.I read about Him in books written by people like you and me. But once I got the message from Him that He blesses me and keeps me
    He makes His countenance shine upon me and is gracious to me;
    May He turn His countenance to me andgrant me peace.
    When I heard this after a long time of prayer, I thought: Okay, let this be sufficient , I am in Gods hands. Now my mind is at rest.

    Like

  2. Lisa, I love your analogy of God being an acquain­tance or a friend. For me, He is definitely a friend with whom I communicate within my heart. And I when I speak with Him, it’s just as if we conversing…like good friends.

    Fab post, my friend! And as Roger Green shared, I like your visual for God.

    Like

  3. Certainly a most thought provoking article Lisa.
    I know God through my Anglican religion and see him as a friend and mentor.
    We have a wonderful Anglican Cathedral in Liverpool and I find it the most inspiring church to go to, particularly when I am feeling low…
    I go when I am feeling happy and I thank him daily for my wonderful family.
    I love to sit in the Lady Chapel and clear my mind of everything and anything…I pray for current troubles around the world and ask him to help.
    After spending many years in a church choir I have a great love of sacred music, There is one particular passage from a works called The Olivetti to Calgary…
    ‘God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son,
    that who so believeth, believeth in him,
    should not perish but have everlasting life’.

    Best wishes,
    Di.x

    Like

  4. Gives the reader lots to think about.. I read this through a few times.. yes when God is a close friend you can get in touch in the middle of the night while acquaintances still sleep.
    Thank you

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

