Disappointments

diappointment72

God, when I lose hope, help me remember your love for me is greater
than my disappointment and your plans for my life
are better than my dreams.

How do you deal with disappointment and broken dreams? How do you overcome when tragedy takes the form of a medical diagnosis, loss of a loved one, career shift or troubled relationships?

Do we cling to hope and keep optimism alive? Or, do we give in to the depression that so often accompanies disappointment and sink further into despair about life? We all want to live a charmed life. We all want to be able to follow our dreams and succeed in everything we do.

Hope is a funny animal. On one hand, if our hope lies solely in career accomplishment and amassing “stuff” in life, we’re setting ourselves up for a huge FAIL.
But as I looked at everything I had worked so hard to accomplish, it was all so meaningless—like chasing the wind. There was nothing really worthwhile anywhere. ~Ecclesiastes 2:11

On the other hand, if we’re too afraid of being disappointed to try a new direction, there’s a good chance we’ll miss out on something fantastic…and perhaps unexpected.

Disappointments and Despair both begin with D, but they don’t need to be synonymous. If we let them, disappointments can build character and make us stronger and more resilient.
We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. ~Romans 5:3-4

Everyone experiences disappointment. We’re disappointed in our parents, spouses, children, friends. We struggle with our own setbacks and challenges to our dream life. We compare ourselves to others and come up lacking (especially compared to what is posted on Facebook). All too often, disappointments overwhelm us and drag us down into despair about the future.

And we look to the sky, shake our fist and ask “Why Me?” In reality, we probably need to re-evaluate and, instead, ask “Where do I go from here?” But that’s really hard when we’re broken-heartedly looking at shattered dreams and a life that looks like it’s in ruin. After all, our default position tends to be to place blame and complain how unfair we’ve been treated. It’s hard to accept, but we need to develop a flexible attitude about disappointments and realize it may be God’s way of telling us we’re headed in the wrong direction. If we can let go of our own stubbornness and trust in God’s direction, He will provide us with everything we need to be successful, regardless of which way we’re pointed.

The answer to our cries of “Why me?” are usually answered with “Trust Me.”

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. ~Romans 8:28

Linking up with Life Through the Lens and Sweet Shot Tuesday
Life through lensP52logo125

 

7 thoughts on “Disappointments

  1. I believe that disappointment usually results from unrealistic expectations – from ourselves, our mates, our children, our friends. I believe we need to see clearly, our vision unclouded by emotion, and allow ourselves and others to just be who and what they are – presuming, of course, that they are not doing harm to others.

    Like

  2. It is never easy to deal with disappointment, but I think it helps when I understand that I don’t know everything.

    Is there a lesson for me in this failure? Will it allow me to do something better? Will I be ready to move on the next opportunity? I believe that God has a plan for me–I don’t want to miss a chance for service because I am blah blah about a disappointment.

    It is easier said than done for sure though.

    Enjoy your weekend, Lisa.

    Like

  3. “and realize it may be God’s way of telling us we’re headed in the wrong direc­tion. If we can let go of our own stub­born­ness and trust in God’s direc­tion, He will pro­vide us with every­thing we need to be suc­cessful, regard­less of which way we’re pointed.”

    I agree with that, Lisa, because I have seen that be the case many times in my life with disappointments or abrupt and scary life changes.

    For me, the times I’ve been disappointed was because something didn’t turn out the way I expected it to. However, after some time I realized it turned out BETTER than I expected.

    I think it’s about having faith and trusting that all is happening for the best.

    Great post topic, my friend!

    Like

  4. I haven’t been blogging for the past month, but I arrive to read a post written about subjects I have been dealing with – expectations (that others have of me), depression and Where do I go from here?.

    There is always hope when one has faith.

    Ecclesiastes is my favorite OT book.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

