When we least expect it

yelo daylily72

When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not yet ready. The challenge will not wait. Life does not look back. A week is more than enough time for us to decide whether or not to accept our destiny.
~Paulo Coelho

Are you at a crossroads in life? Maybe you’re there for the second, third or tenth time. And the only thing certain is whatever path you choose, your life will be seriously altered.

Crossroad moments are opportunities. Do we stay the course and make radical adjustments and veer off in a completely different direction? Either choice involves a level of fear and anxiety. We’re uncomfortable making adjustments within ourselves in order to make our current course smoother; yet we look at a change in direction and wonder if what lies down that road is a better alternative. Do we choose to make changes in our current situation or charge into the abyss of uncertainty?

Some people approach crossroads in life from a left-brain position, making a balance sheet of pros and cons. Some people go with their gut and let emotions drive their decision. Either way involves a level of reliance on an internal GPS system.

One thing is for certain, trying to find balance in the middle of the chaos can be difficult.

What if our choice causes failure?

They say failure make a person stronger. And I tend to agree. Failures force us to look at alternatives. They are life’s way of offering do-overs. Sometimes with the choice we make at these crossroad opportunities, we emerge battle-weary….but stronger and more courageous because of it.

Why the daylily you ask? They really don’t have anything to do with crossroads, but I look at these flowers and think they may be a lot like life. Each blossom does its very best every day…because that’s all the time it has. One day. One day to shine; make a beautiful difference; be the best it can be.

Linking up with Friday Finds
fridayfindsbutton2

17 thoughts on “When we least expect it

  1. Great post! We are still emerging from the biggest 180 we’ve ever taken and some days if I think about it I could start screaming and never stop. Thankfully the days when it is more of an adventure are starting to take precedence. The thing no one tells you is that the goal line is not reaching an age of no challenges, cause that ain’t gonna happen, but reaching a point of peace that God is still in control and He loves you.

    Like

  2. Fabulous post, Lisa! And I love how you concluded it, using the Daylily as a perfect example.

    I have a tendency to make my choices based on my intuition, which I feel is deeply connected to my spiritual beliefs. Yet, I still have fears and doubts about them at times. But I think that is where my faith comes in because sometimes I have to trust and just go here I feel I’m being guiding.

    “What if our choice causes failure?”

    Personally, I don’t believe in failure because as long as I learn something from a choice, I grow. And sometimes I think those choices are meant to be made so that I CAN learn something.

    Have a super weekend, my friend!

    Like

    • And some­times I think those choices are meant to be made so that I CAN learn something. That is a really fantastic philosophy. We all should look at it that way. 🙂

      Like

  3. Today as I stand surrounded by boxes and general upheaval this post has really helped….you know the crossroads we’ve been standing at …I hope we’ve made the right decision but we will make the best of whatever happens. Your post has made me feel more optimistic and hopeful – thank you as always

    Like

  4. This post strikes a chord…I’ve just been at a crossroads myself, but now I am well on my way on a new path, a new journey. May your path be wonderfully lit with stars…

    Like

  5. Oh I am definitely the thinker who would want to sit on a decision for as long as possible. Sometimes that leads to indecision which is an unfortunate decision in and of itself. I should follow the daylily’s example more for sure.

    Like

  6. Hi Lisa,
    Such a wonderful encouragement and perspective on crossroads! I shared it on Facebook and Twitter …
    Sunshine and joyful moments to your week,
    Nina

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

