Simple emotions

Twix wide world72
Texture by Kim Klassen; just a touch; multiply 100% with selective masking

At 10 months, she mastered a full crawl. She became upright at 11 months and discovered there is a whole new world about twelve inches off the floor. She is perpetual motion during her waking hours.

And she is now ONE year old!

I can hardly believe it’s been a year since she was brought into this world. Three weeks early, the first month of her life was a bit rocky. She was on breathing monitors in the hospital and required a bili blanket at home for weeks. Although she didn’t realize it, her world was drastically changing while she slept. The Investigator and I monitored everything from how often she nursed to how much output to the hours of sleep. The Investigator worried constantly about getting through the first few months physically and emotionally.

I began working from home to help with childcare expenses. I still work from home and think we pretty much have the schedule down to a fine art. One less worry for Mama. It has its limitations, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I don’t need to be a fixture in the corporate world. Honestly, I don’t need the stress that comes with that definition of success. And in this age of technology, I can appear to be all corporate-like in my communications…all the while with wee ones under my slippered feet. I return calls during naps and, for the most part, everything runs fairly smoothly.

Perfect combination. So perfect, in fact, that Entrepreneur doesn’t want me to have all the fun so he works from home a lot as well. Since his cancer diagnosis and surgery, he’s come to the mindset that life is too short to be stuck at an office 10 hours a day. We share the office….and tag team with the childcare when necessary.

Like I said, perfect combination. And Peanut and Twix have the added advantage of developing a close relationship with their Papa….hopefully for many decades to come. They’re Papa’s girls most of the time and he loves it. They get it honestly because our girls were always “Grandpa’s girls” as well. I think they still are.

So as we enter into ONE, I’m sure the next few months will be filled with wonder, curiosity and excitement to watch another grandbabykin grow happy and healthy under our roof with her Mama, sister, Nana and Papa to help.

Linking up with LTTL and Friday Finds
Life thru the lens  fridayfindsbutton2

 

 

14 thoughts on “Simple emotions

  1. Lisa, I can’t believe that Twix is already one! God, it seems like yesterday when she was born.

    I think it’s awesome that you and Entrepreneur are working from home. You’re right, perfect combination!

    Love the photographs of Twix and how you added the quote!

    Have a great rest of your week, my friend!
    X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cannot believe how fast they do grow. One already? Your post sounds much more upbeat and glad you and entrepreneur are getting this time at home together. Curiosity is such a perfect first emotion word. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The world through the eyes of a child is an amazing thing. How nice for all of you that you have more time together; if only we could treasure our lives that much without the advent of major illness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many families are geographically torn apart nowadays that it’s really heart-warming to hear that you are playing such a big role in your grandbabies’ lives. This is just the way it should be. You, and they, are very blessed. And the working from home thing? Absolutely the way to go. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I cannot believe it’s been a year since Twix was born! I remember that post. Don’t you feel blessed to have your daughter and family so close? I can’t imagine any other life, even at those times when it tries my patience. And it does. Sometimes. But then I remember how blessed I am.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The photo touches the heart – how very sweet!!

    Although my daughter is almost 17 I’ve never forgotten those first months after she was born. I had stopped working in the corporate world after her birth and I’ve never regretted that decision. I was a “late mom” and wanted to enjoy every bit of the time I have with my child. I now also work from home and am my own boss. It’s not always easy, but I enjoy it.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely photo. She’s discovering a whole new world now that she’s “upright”.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this photo! Our grandson was a premie as well. He was born a bit over five weeks early. Now, at nine months, he is almost walking.

    Like

  8. Wow! How fast and how much can happen in one year! My husband works from home and I wish I could figure out a job I could do from home. However, how you do it with little ones is probably beyond my abilities. When my grandchildren are here, they seem to need 100% of adult attention and supervision.

    I love that sweet photo. It reminds me of my grandson. He is about a year and a half. He loves to stand and look out of the windows. Sometimes his older brother, who turns five tomorrow, joins him.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

