Spring’s impromptu photo session

So I’m sitting in the office “working” when she tugs on my sleeve. It’s not so much a tug as a violent yank.

My muse, the one who has been playing a game of one-sided hide and seek for months now whispers in my ear, what do you think you’re doing? Twix is mercifully asleep. Entrepreneur, The Investigator and Peanut are all out of the house. And I’m left alone…and to my own devices. A wave of panic washes over me that I may not have much time. So I grab the camera and head outside to capture a little bit of spring before everyone returns home my calm disappears.

Here are a few shots of my impromptu photo session with Mother Nature. This is much harder than it appears as our springs are usually accompanied by 20mph winds, making still shots almost impossible.

Spring won’t let me stay in this house any longer!
I must get out and breathe the air deeply again.
~Gustav Mahler

I think this is my new favorite spring photo. It’s a serviceberry tree blossom. I love how, sometimes, a great shot will just wander in front of the camera and need very little tweaking. And I simply must tweak….it’s in my DNA.

serviceberry
Texture by Kim Klassen; happy heart, 50% multiply.

Your mind is a garden,
Your thoughts are the seeds,
You can grow flowers or
You can grow weeds.
~Unknown

Wow, isn’t this quote the truth. How many times do we sow the weed seeds of negativity, blame and unhappiness. Even when we plant the seeds of hope, peace and tranquility, if we don’t pull those weeds of doubt and fear on a regular basis, they will eventually choke out any beauty we hope to grow in our hearts and minds.

blue phlox

The day the Lord created Hope
was probably the same day He created Spring.
~Bern Williams

For me, the unfurling of a leaf is one of the best symbolic signs of Hope nature offers us. What better way to show confidence in the future than by the creation of a new leaf? In it holds all the potential for a strong, healthy life. It’s like spring is making good on its promises after a dark and desolate winter.

redbud leaf

Life stands before me like an eternal spring
with new and brilliant clothes.
~Carl Friedrich Gauss

For those of us who live in where winters are long, cold and hard, the prospect of spring brings excited anticipation. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we embraced this mindset for our lives? To wake up each day eagerly anticipating new experiences that lie ahead? Yeah, I can’t do it either.

yellow-green daff

Life is full of beauty. Notice it. 
Notice the bumble bee, the small child, 
and the smiling faces. 
Smell the rain, and feel the wind. 
Live your life to the fullest potential, 
and fight for your dreams.
~Ashley Smith

All the above blossoms are wonderful, but these are the ones I’m waiting anxiously to bloom. My dwarf lilacs are still buttoned up tight….leaving me with nothing but anticipation. But, I’m sure I’ll know the moment they open because their heavenly scent will travel through the house. Like these buttoned-up buds, life is full of potential, even when it seems like it’s not going our way. All we need to do is pay attention to the opportunities that can present themselves…sometimes in the most unexpected ways.

lilac buds

Hope you’re enjoying spring if it’s arrived in your area. 

Linking up with those who love to share at Life Through the Lens, Texture Tuesday and Texture Twist.

14 thoughts on “Spring’s impromptu photo session

  1. “I think this is my new favorite spring photo. It’s a serviceberry tree blossom.”

    And I can certainly see WHY, Lisa, it’s STUNNING!

    *applause*

    Isn’t it something how sometimes a photograph will need no tweaking whatsoever? And I’m like you, I can’t resist tweaking, even if it’s just a little bit.

    Glorious photographs, my friend! Have super spring week!
    X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy that your spring has arrived {ours has, too} and even more delighted that you listened to that inner voice and took your camera for a much deserved walk. What delightful sights you found together and so glad you shared them with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so fascinating to me that if I head just 30-40 minutes in either direction the abundance of color is so drastically different than were I am. Lovely, lovely post. And great capture on that serviceberry tree blossom, I couldn’t get one without the wind messing it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been out with my little point and shoot and even the camera in my old phone, but I haven’t transferred any photos to my laptop yet. It seems that I turn it on about once or twice a week lately, and that is to check email.

    I’m glad I decided to visit you. Your photos and writing are always lovely and uplifting.

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

