Five Photos, Five Stories #3

wet Tanner72

Before the golden retriever (Tanner) we have now, there was Sundance…our first golden retriever. And while this is a shot of Tanner, our second retriever, the two share a lot of similarities. Both L.O.V.E. water. And that is the framework for #3 of Five Photos, Five Stories.

We got Sundance when we lived in Stilwell, KS. We had almost 2 acres of land with that house. The veggie garden was on the “high” side of the backyard. The kids’ swing set was more on the low end. We installed a sprinkler system where we screwed sprinkler heads into valves in the ground where we wanted to water….so the garden was top priority. One summer day, I had set the sprinkler heads for the garden and had gone to the lower yard by the swing set.

All was fine until I looked up and found our 6-month golden retriever, Sundance, standing over the sprinkler head trying to bite the spray….visualize of the phrase drinking from a firehose and you have a picture of what he was doing. In his attempt to eat the water spray, he was sopping wet.

I sternly spoke his name from the lower yard accompanied by a very firm NO!

He whipped his head up…water still spraying in all directions…and had this look of OMG! She must want to play!

And took off running….downhill….towards me…gaining speed with every gallop. And I remember thinking, @#$%, he’s going to hit me. There was absolutely nothing I could do to stop him so I held onto the swing set frame, turned sideways and braced for impact.

And then a 50-pound, sopping wet, golden retriever body slammed me to the ground.

Sundance was part of our family for almost 12 years until cancer riddled his body, and we had to make the awful decision to let him go. He was an awesome dog and the one our daughters will probably remember best as “their” dog while growing up.

Sundance2

Sundance

 

So post #3  for Five Photos, Five Stories comes with a tag for Suzicate over at The Water Witch’s Daughter. Suzie’s writings are amazing so I hope she’ll think of this as a mini Mama Kat’s writing exercise!

7 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories #3

  1. Awww…I have a friend with a golden named Sundew…this made me think of her. I wish every family could have a big happy dog when the kids are growing up. Thanks for sharing your story! (Here from Carol’s)

    Like

  2. Aw…what a sweet-looking dog, Lisa!

    “All was fine until I looked up and found our 6-month golden retriever, Sundance, standing over the sprinkler head trying to bite the spray….visualize of the phrase drinking from a firehose and you have a picture of what he was doing.”

    HA! Yes, my family had a German Shepard who used to do the same thing!

    Great photos and story, my friend!
    X

    Like

  3. We had a neighbor here for awhile who had a golden puppy who liked to come swim in our pond. He did that one day then ran into the freshly tilled garden – I had to hose him off before I took him home.

    Like

  4. Sundance sounded like my kind of friend. I can picture you playing the role of bowling pin too! I hope things are well for you and the family, and I hope to be less of a delinquent blog reader now, Lisa.

    Enjoy your Monday!

    Like

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

