And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix, the one you’ll know by.

Twix-two 72

And you, of the tender years can’t know the fears that your elders grew by,
And so please help them with your youth, they seek the truth before they can die.
Teach your parents well, their children’s hell will slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix, the one you’ll know by.
Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.
~Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young; Teach Your Children

Twix monitoredTwix is TWO! It just doesn’t seem possible that just two short years ago she made her debut….right before a winter storm blanketed the area with seven inches of snow. Three weeks early, she gave us all a bit of a scare but to look at her now, you’d never know she had a bit of a rough start.

And now….now she’s perpetual motion and a non-stop talker! And, I’m not so sure she won’t surpass her sister in resourcefulness and intelligence. Noooooo, I’m not partial in any way. 🙂 And, I fully realize every grandparent believes their grandbabykins to be precocious. We have two pocket rockets and they show no signs of slowing down.

I think I’ve got this grandparent thing down pretty well. It does help when you’re immersed in the role 24/7 because they’re under roof. I felt fortunate when Peanut lived with us for the first two years of her life. Now, I feel doubly blessed to have the same bond with Twix. When she tugs on my hand and says, “C’mon Nana,” my heart melts. I never experienced that closeness with my grandparents…they were those old people we visited a couple times a year. I never really had the chance to become what I consider “close.” Fortunately, our children have had many opportunities to get to know their grandparents. As a grandparent now, I understand the emotions and feelings that go along with that title.

Ours is an unconventional arrangement, and Entrepreneur and I have yet to experience much of an empty nest. Life’s circumstances have brought our children back home for various reasons. We’re fortunate to have had the means to help their circumstances and provide stability in their lives, and have enjoyed many unexpected blessings in return. The Investigator’s current situation will be changing in the foreseeable future and we’ll all, once again, be adjusting.

But back to two-year-old Twix. Her discoveries, vocabulary and abilities amaze me on a weekly basis. And we are definitely in the throws of the “terrible twos” where redirection can cause emotional eruptions of epic proportions. “Me do it” is a common mantra, and she definitely has a little, mischievous sense of humor. But for all the challenges that come with being two, Twix is a joy to be around.

Helping raise this second generation has been an emotional roller coaster. I’m sure, at times, Peanut and Twix think they have too many parents. We’re blessed to be allowed to watch, first hand, these precious grandchildren discover, learn and grow. And I’m not sure I would trade this experience for all the empty nest perks in the world.

Today, as we celebrate Twix’s birthday, we listen to her run around the house chanting “happy birthday,” and are reminded how unpredictable life is….and how “failed” plans can turn out to be the biggest of blessings.

Happy Birth Day Twix!

two Twix

Linking up with Songography and LTTL

7 thoughts on “And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix, the one you’ll know by.

  1. Gosh it’s hard to believe she is already 2 years old, Lisa, and she is just precious.
    You have such a wonderful spirit and outlook that I truly admire.
    Those little Grandbabykins are so fortunate to have you for a Grandma.

    Happy Birthday Sweet Little One! xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Belated #2 Birthday, Twix!

    Lisa, this post is so beautiful, both your words and photos. I clearly remember when you shared that first post on Twix’s birth. And it’s so hard to believe it was two years ago!?!

    “how unpredictable life is….and how “failed” plans can turn out to be the biggest of blessings.”

    Amen!

    I love that last photo. She’s adorable!

    Have a super day, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

