Out of the box…all the time!

photo blog challenge

May was Out Of the Box (OOB) month over at PJ’s photo challenge. In my world, May is always May-hem so it wasn’t easy to take time to do much out of the box thinking on this one. But, here’s my best effort for the month.

OOB #1
I’m an adjunct instructor for a university strategic communications department. I work with graduating seniors on their capstone project. As student agencies, they work with “real-life” clients on designated projects requiring them to draw on knowledge learned from previous coursework. The end product is a professionally-developed strategic plan, complete with formal presentation to the client for approval. This year, one team won an award for best campaign strategy….an award they would not have won if they had not thought outside the box on their approach to the problem.
campaign toast

OOB #2
These two require out-of-the-box thinking more often than you might realize. Motherhood the first time around was a challenge….and now, my Nana Nanny skills have been honed even further by these two pocket rockets. You’ve heard necessity is the mother of invention? At our house, (grand)mother is the necessity of invention!
Peanut Twix 2016

OOB#3
This may not look like an out of the box photo, but believe me when I tell you it is. This birdbath was in desperate need of a makeover. Entrepreneur took it and had it sandblasted and then primed it for a new coat of paint. And that’s where our opinions diverged. He is more of a standard color type of guy….and I wanted it purple, which was more than a bit out of the box in his view.
purple birdbath

OOB #4
Peanut just finished first grade and what a year it was! While kindergarten was fairly easy for her, first grade pulled her out of her comfort zone and made her think outside the box in a lot of areas in order to succeed. She is good at thinking strategically to get what she wants….sometimes to her detriment.
Peanut end of school

OOB #5
Creativity at its best. Peanut’s out-of-the-box thinking about roller skating had her sister pulling her with a jumprope. This can only end one way.
roller skate idea

OOB Bonus photo
Well, what do you know!? Just when I though I was going to be a photo short on this challenge, new foto fodder came my way. When Field Day at Peanut’s school was  rainy and cool, the teachers had to think outside the box in order to entertain a couple hundred antsy children for the afternoon. Classroom stations were set up with games and activities to help make Field Day a success.
field day

There’s my selection for Out Of the Box. Please click on over to PJs and check out the other OOB thinkers as well.

12 thoughts on “Out of the box…all the time!

  1. Hi Lisa,

    All your photos this month are brill. I like the rollerskating rope pull by younger sister, Peanut has thought out of the box for that one. I love the unique birdbath the green background looks great with purple too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “This can only end one way.” This had me laughing so hard, Lisa! Hopefully it ended up better than it looked like it might. 🙂

    I LOVE the purple birdbath. Yup, definitely thinking outside the box!

    I know I’ve said this before, but I really cannot believe how quickly they are growing. Seems like just yesterday, that Twix was born. You must be one VERY energetic lady, bless your heart.

    You have a wonderful week my friend. xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa, I love your play on words, May-hem…that’s brilliant!

    Your photographs for this theme are FAB! Congrats on the award. And I love the purple birdbath. Great decision.

    I am amazed at how fast the girls are growing. I clearly remember when Twix was born, which seems only months ago. They’re both so beautiful!

    Hope you and your family had a Happy Memorial Day! Enjoy the rest of your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great photos! The majority of them had me thinking of my mom who was a Kindergarten teacher and had to deal with the the ups and downs of end of the year parties and children who attempted to work their strategies to get what they wanted.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “This can only end one way.” That is hysterical!!!!! It is like when you hear kids laughing just a bit TOO hard in the other room… “someone’s gonna get hurt!” These are GREAT pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! You are busy! Lots of thinking out of the box. I love the purple bird bath. Our grandsons recently spent nine “sleeps” and ten days with us while their parents were on a vacation. I don’t know how you do it. They are lucky little girls to have Nana Nanny to help take care of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

