The value of a moment

sisters-2014-16-72

Sometimes you don’t know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory.
~Dr. Seuss

Wow. Talk about a huge FAIL. Carol challenged me to a 3 Quote Challenge back in November. I got one in on Nov. 22 and then………oops. So, here is my second quote post. In my defense, I did mention I probably wouldn’t post consecutive days. 🙂

These two shots capture why I drive everyone insane taking photos. Entrepreneur rolls his eyes and others drag their feet when I mention “family photo time.” But let them gripe and complain. I think it’s important to capture as much as possible as often as possible. Most of those complaining are under the age of 35, so they haven’t hit that time in their life when looking back is just as important as looking ahead.

Precious memories. That’s what looking back provides. And that’s all they are now….memories. So often, we’re so caught up in life’s stresses and interruptions that we fail to really take in those fleeting moments. Photos capture those times when we, perhaps, were too busy to notice or care.

It’s only when your children are grown and gone that photos from their childhood take on a newfound importance.

It’s only when your spouse is no longer with you that those photos become cherished memories of a life together.

It’s only when you’ve had to say goodbye to those that now wait at the Rainbow Bridge that you realize how special those muddy paws were on your clean floor.

No, we rarely realize the value of a moment until it’s past and all that remains is a memory.

So, as we all enter the holiday season…get those cameras ready!

5 thoughts on “The value of a moment

  1. Our oldest is 50 and the youngest is 32 with one in between. I’ve been sorting the many photos that I’ve taken over the years in case they might like them (sometimes I doubt it though as they now have their own to keep). Anyway, the sorting brings back so many memories. Seems only yesterday they were my babies; still are but lots bigger ones. haha And with the digital age comes the flash drives full of photos and hopeful that they won’t fade. Great quote you share. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First, Lisa I LOVE the photo collage! OMG…it’s so precious!

    “So often, we’re so caught up in life’s stresses and interruptions that we fail to really take in those fleeting moments. Photos capture those times when we, perhaps, were too busy to notice or care.”

    You are so right about that. And that’s one of the reasons why I’m so drawn to photography and photographs. Because they are captured moments, that are frozen in time.

    Like you, I’ve got my camera all ready to take pictures this holiday season.

    Have a great week, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

