Renew and Replace

The flower that wilted last year is gone. Petals once fallen are fallen forever. Flowers do not return in the spring, rather they are replaced. It is in this difference between returned and replaced that the price of renewal is paid.

And as it is for spring flowers, so it is for us.
~Daniel Abraham, The Price of Spring

Yesterday was the “first day of spring” although here is felt more like mid summer with temps in the mid 80sF! And, last week we had a hard freeze. So it is with spring in middle Missouri. I thought this was an interesting quote and am still processing its meaning.

My thoughts are still pretty much a jumble in my head these days and I’ve not been successful in penning anything worthwhile. But, with yesterday’s teaser, I’m ready for warmer weather. Although winter was not a harsh one, it came with its own set of challenges.

As I look ahead to warmer…and hopefully, better days…..I’ll leave you with some of the hopeful signs I found around the yard and vow to come back soon with something of more substance.

Asiatic lilies

Iris

Houttuynia (Hoot-en-ia) Caution: this plant is awesome, will grow anywhere, and is invasive. Plant at your own risk.

Comfrey

 And my favorite:

Happy spring!

4 thoughts on “Renew and Replace

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the quote you shared, Lisa! I read it several times to fully grasp its meaning and discovered what it meant for me. I think it means that Spring symbolizes the process of being almost “reborn” from what we once were. In order for something within us to change, it has to die and then be “replaced” with something new. Which is the price of renewal.

    I also love the photograph you chose to go with the quote….it’s prefect!

    All your photos of Spring are just lovely. Wow…I can’t believe you had temps of 80 degrees already. We’ve had warmer temps these past two days, but more so in the high 60’s.

    I’m headed out to the suburbs this weekend to take some photographs of the flowers blooming. Can’t wait!

    Have a great week, my friend!
    ((((((( You )))))))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sure looks like the beginning of spring, Lisa, and I hope it is a beautiful one for you.
    We still have about a foot and a half of snow on the ground so it will be a while before we see spring here. However there is rain and warmer temperatures in the forecast for the next few days, so I am hoping…

    Sending you prayers, good thoughts, and hugs, my friend.
    xo.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave me some comment Luv! I appreciate each and every one.

