Turn around and they’re four…

Maybe it’s because all my chicks are soon to fly away from the nest, but I seem to be reminiscing more than usual lately.

Sunrise Sunset
from Fiddler on the Roof

(Tevye)
Is this the little girl I carried?
Is this the little boy at play?

(Golde)
I don’t remember growing older
When did they?

(Tevye)
When did she get to be a beauty?
When did he grow to be so tall?

(Golde)
Wasn’t it yesterday
When they were small?

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears

Recently, Army Wife, Peanut and I attended a bridal shower for a family friend. The friend was Army Wife’s first BFF and for the first few years of their lives, they were inseparable. Another little girl joined the mix and the duo became a trio of friends. Living within shouting distance of each other, the “big girls” as well as the little girls navigated the muddy waters of raising and being first-borns.

But time marches on, leaving in its wake a string of memories. It’s true that the only thing constant is change. Families move. Friends drift in different directions, but never completely severing the cords that once bound each other together. And then the invitation arrives in the mail and in a brain slap moment you find yourself screaming, “What? When? How? Why?”

What the hell happened?”

When did they grow up?

How did two decades slip by unnoticed?

Why don’t I feel like I’ve aged the same amount of time?

Here’s a scene from just last week.

Okay, maybe not last week, but it certainly doesn’t seem like it’s been 21 years since this 4-year-old’s birthday party. Army Wife is the birthday girl. BFF#1 is the dark-haired girl. BFF#2 is the one in the pink dress.

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze.

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears

What the hell happened?”

When did they grow up?

How did two decades slip by unnoticed?

Why don’t I feel like I’ve aged the same amount of time?

I don’t remember growing older
When did they?


8 thoughts on “Turn around and they’re four…

  1. It’s shocking isn’t it? I realised when my son thought I was ‘about 40’ when he was 33 or thereabouts that time was galloping on and just for a moment I felt my age. Grandchildren keep you young – all that promise 🙂

    Like

  2. An echo of what went on in my head when my children moved out on their own – and then again when my grandchildren somehow became teenagers. And my grandson got his driver’s license. How’d that happen?

    But then again, my mirrors have developed funny little distortions in them – they seem to be adding this wrinkled effect. I’ve noticed cameras are doing the same thing. How’d that happen?

    Like

  3. I remember when I use to turn heads. Now my daughter is the one turning heads. I have must have blinked too many times, because time slipped away.

    Ps: You are still beautiful.

    Like

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.