Out with the old, in with the new

quotography-new year72

Year’s end is nether an end nor a beginning but a going on, with all the wisdom that experience can instill in us.
~Hal Borland

Can you believe the new year will begin in just three days?! Wow. Where did the last 12 months go? How do you approach the passing of one year into the next? Are you one to make resolutions to break for the new year? Do you spend time obsessing reflecting on life over the past 12 months? Do you look forward to a fresh start each January 1st?

I’ve never been one to make resolutions…probably because I’m just lazy. I’ve never made the beginning of a new year into a huge event. So when I came across this quote, I thought it summed up my thoughts about the new year perfectly. There is nothing magical about January 1st. It will feel the same as December 31st (except for that headache from last night’s party). The only difference is when we begin each “new” year, we do so carrying our cumulative past experiences with us….and hopefully we’re brining added wisdom because of those experiences. This gained wisdom will, consciously or unconsciously, affect every decision we make moving forward.

Last year, instead of those pesky resolutions, I started selecting a Word for the Year. I’d seen this done by others and thought it was a brilliant alternative to empty resolutions. Stay tuned for that big reveal in a few more days.

I hope you all enjoy the rest of 2015….and approach 2016 with greater wisdom and renewed energy.

Participating in Quotography and LTTL

4 thoughts on “Out with the old, in with the new

  1. I have made resolutions in the past – many years ago – but I never stick with them, so I gave that up. I’ve read about the word for a year idea – but have not tried it. I’ll have to give that some thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE both the photo of the surf and the quote. It’s brilliant! And it’s something that I have personally always believed – it’s but a “going on” process; carrying the wisdom with us.

    Wishing you a happy, healthy and blessed new year, my friend!

    X and cheers to you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.