Autumn’s endings

This might be my last post of the Autumn beauty in middle Missouri. I’m not getting out as much as I’d like, and have had to rely on a few hit and run photos this year. Time continues to slip away each day. It seems like I’m busy but at the end of the day, I can’t really point to accomplishing much of anything. Strange.

Autumn continues to be the season of reflection for  me. But, my reflecting has taken a shift with the addition of Entrepreneur’s cancer. A friend’s wife passed on November 1st after battling this horrid disease for more than a year. These types of events tend to intensify reflection…and reassessing priorities. There is so much in this world that is simply not worth bickering over in the grand scheme of things.

Time is such a fleeting illusion. Hours can sometimes drag, but then days, weeks and months are gone before we realize it. We all say we want to live for the moment….yet, we’re quick to squander those moments with activities that are counter-intuitive to that goal.

Autumn was a mixed bag of weather this year. One week it was like a summer day with sandals and shorts; the next, we’re hauling out the coats and boots. One thing for sure….I’m not looking forward to the cold. And, I can feel its presence much sooner than expected. I’ve discovered the older I get, the more intolerant I am to cold weather.

Believe it our not, I took this shot almost as an afterthought. Twix and I were puttering around the yard on one of those summery Autumn days. As soon as I saw it on the computer, I knew exactly which quote to pair with it!

I hope your Autumn has been enjoyable so far. I’m sharing today with others over at Peabea’s Pictorial Tuesday. 

7 thoughts on “Autumn’s endings

  1. Love the photos and quotes. Last one is so cute. We’ve had a mixed bag of weather in Ohio too. Was really strange beginning of Fall. End of Summer was chilly and then it was hot again. Now really cold today. I love the softness of winter snow, but not looking forward to winter at all. Understand how life can be more appreciated as we age. I remember being young and carefree and just wasted days. Now, I’m more appreciative for each that is given, but I am still wasteful. 🙂 Cannot believe how the months have flown by. I often wonder how I fit so much in when I worked and kids were young. Hubby reminds me that I moved faster then. lol

    Peabea@Peabea Scribbles

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I’ve discovered the older I get, the more intolerant I am to cold weather.”
    Thank goodness, it’s not just me. For some reason this year, I am so sensitive to the cold, and you know, it’s not really even that cold here yet. 😦

    I also think that the difference in the passing of time comes with getting older too. I am not at all sure where this year went, and I cannot believe that it is almost Christmas.

    I just love this photograph of Twix, and the quote that you hose for it is just perfect.

    xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful post, Lisa! And PERFECT for this time of the year.

    ” These types of events tend to intensify reflection…and reassessing priorities.”

    You are so right about that. Isn’t it something how life’s challenging events snap us to attention and make us prioritize what is really important and what is not?

    “Time is such a fleeting illusion. Hours can sometimes drag, but then days, weeks and months are gone before we realize it.”

    Yes, how TRUE that is.

    We’ve had a mixed bag of weather this Autumn as well. In fact, I found it very tough to get some photographs of Autumn’s colors.

    That last photograph of Twix is priceless! And I love the quote because I LOVE pumpkins!

    Have a great rest of your week, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. a beautiful thoughtful post. Thank you for sharing. I know at points in our life things happen that make us stop and reflect on who we are and where we are going and what is most important in your life. Have a lovely weekend ahead and thank you for stopping by my blog this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.