National Siblings Day!

Heard on the news this morning that today is National Siblings Day. Evidently it’s been around for 14 years. I never knew. On Squidoo, it’s listed under Wacky April Holidays. Wacky? Even though it’s not a well-etablished, gift-giving holiday like Mother’s Day or Father’s day, it is a trending topic on Twitter today (how do you like that little bit of ‘T’ alliteration?).

For those of us that have brothers and sisters, sibling rivalry is a given; heck, it’s expected to a certain extent. But when you stop and think about it, apart from a tragic accident or illness, our siblings will probably be the longest relationship we have in our lives. Many times they’re literally cradle to the grave relationships that outlasts all others. We have the same blood coursing through our veins and because of this, for better or worse, we’re bonded to each other for life.

So, in honor of National Siblings Day, I thought I’d share a little bit about my little sister. We’re four years apart in age and 150 miles apart in distance. We both have two daughters, but she’s still in the throws of teenage angst and turmoil. I keep telling her this too shall pass, but I’m not sure she totally believes me. Because of our age difference, we were never really close growing up. We’re trying to remedy that problem now as best we can 150 miles apart.

lisa & lori72
I’m not sure what I thought was so funny. Obviously, Mom wasn’t sharing in my humor.

Lisa&Lori 2012-72
And here’s a shot of me, Little Sis and Mama just a few short years later.

sisters1976
Here we are in the tumultuous, teenage, high school and junior high years. I’m sure, based on this angelic pose, we were no trouble at all, right mom? 🙂

Lori&Lisa2012-72
Still perfect angels. Yeah, right.

And here are a couple pics of other siblings worth mentioning today.

bach babes
Yes, these beauties are The Floridian and Peanut’s Mama.

Peanut&BB
No introduction is needed for these two!

To the outside world we all grow old. But not to brothers and sisters. We know each other as we always were. We know each other’s hearts. We share private family jokes. We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys. We live outside the touch of time. 
~Clara Ortega

 

Happy National Siblings Day!

5 thoughts on “National Siblings Day!

  1. Lisa, these are just beautiful! I absolutely love the photo of you, your mom, and your sister.

    I did not know about this day, so I just sent a note to my brother, who is the very, very best!

    I hope you’ve had a wonderful day! xo.

    Like

  2. Lisa, ALL the photos of you, your sister and mother are just beautiful. But the first one (with you as a baby) is BEYOND precious! You all seem to have the same eyes!

    I had no idea about National Siblings Day, so thank you for sharing it. I will be calling my brother this evening, so I will mention it to him too!

    Love the quote by Clara Ortega!

    Hope you had a FAB Wednesday!

    X

    P.S. your grandchildren are adorable!

    Like

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.