Awww Monday: Simple pleasures

Think big thoughts but relish small pleasures.
~H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

Like sun puddles.

It happens every year….I get to a point where I just can’t stand winter any longer. And I’m there. Now.

I’m tired of being cold. I’m tired of gray days. I’m tired of being inside yet the thought of going out in the cold keeps me tucked away within the walls of my house. This year seems worse than normal. Usually, for the most part, I take the seasons in stride. But, this year, I’ve noticed a shift in my attitude. Most years I can give it until around March’s spring break before I start whining about the cold. Some years, I can bundle up, go and do things unless it’s sub-freezing. Not this year. My motivation is gone. I’ve never been susceptible to SADD syndrome, but think I’ve caught it this year…sort of like the flu.

I have loads of unfinished projects….and no desire to complete them. Here are just a few of the ones with expiration dates of sooner rather than later:
1. Make two flower girl dresses for The Golfer’s wedding on May 11th.
2. Alter mother-of-the-bride dress for said wedding.
3. Finish layout of programs for said wedding and figure out where to get them printed.
4. Exercise and lose 10 pounds before said wedding
5. Take up the shoulders and hem a dress for the oldest daughter’s vacay (aka: delayed honeymoon).
6. Ongoing household responsibilities like cooking…and laundry…and cleaning.
7. Oh yeah, my day job(s).

I think I’ll just sit quietly in the next sun puddle for a while. It may just be the simple pleasure I need.

Playing along with Awww Monday, hosted by Comedy Plus.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Awww Monday: Simple pleasures

  1. “sun puddles.”

    Lisa, I love that. It totally made me smile 🙂 And I also love the picture of your kitty. What a beautiful profile!

    You feel about winter like I do about summer. By July, I’m using over it and ready for fall and winter. I’m also anticipating spring this year. However, summer makes me pine for “snow puddles” HA!

    Have a super week, my friend. Spring will be here soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it’s temporary and you have a lot going on. It’s got to sun up soon, altho we are getting up to 12″ snow on Wed. Oy to the vey.
    Just keep taking care of yourself, and don’t expect too much right now… LeeAnna and Milo who sends nips and kisses

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww, sun puddles and relaxing is a very good thing. I’ve things that need doing too and just haven’t gotten around to them. I’m tired of winter as you are. I’m tired of the cold even more.

    Thank you for joining the Awww Mondays Blog Hop.

    Have a fabulous Awww Monday, my friend. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can so relate to what you’re saying – although your stresses certainly are greater than mine. It’s always been February that gets me, and each year I think it is worse. It bothered me less when I was younger and willing to brave, yea even defy, the elements, but as I get older, I become more and more resentful. My daughter told me setting clocks forward makes spring come, so I am ignoring the winter weather advisory we have for tomorrow morning, and waiting to welcome spring with arms wide open. Maybe hugs will help? I’m sending a basketful of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.