The last little bit of goodness

On a preschool field trip to a pumpkin patch last week, I noticed a patch of sunflowers that were a bit past their prime. While my eye saw flowers that were ending their life cycle, it also saw a bee busily tending to the center of each flower, pulling out every last bit of delicious nectar. And, I thought, wouldn’t it be nice if  we all adopted that mindset? To tend to all aspects of life by focusing our efforts in pulling out all the goodness in it? Regardless of how bad a situation appears, there is always sweetness for those who wish to work at drawing it out.

And, then I found this quote:
Be like the honeybee who gathers only nectar wherever it goes. Seek the goodness that is found in everyone.
~Mata Amritanandamayi

Wow, this is timely. Raise your hand if you’re sick and tired of this political season. I believe we all are sick and tired of the pettiness, lies and vitriol that seems to be a part of every political campaign this year. Unfortunately, I don’t believe it’s limited to politics. We, as a society, seem to have forgotten how to see any other position except our own. We don’t extend courtesy to anyone who has a different view, and we certainly don’t listen to their side of anything if it differs from our own.

I believe there is a profound message in this little bee who was completely oblivious to my presence. I’m very happy I saw him that morning. It made me stop and think about my attitude towards life.

Blog hopping today with Comedy Plus and Awww Mondays.

8 thoughts on “The last little bit of goodness

  1. I love that quote. I think I must save it, for use somehow later. I’m having my morning coffee beside my window, outside of which is the bird tree. The Juncos and Towhees hop about on the ground, scratching for seed, as the Finch, Chickadees, and chipmunks visit the feeder hanging in that tree. Their antics add light to the day, despite the cloudy skies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa, first, I LOVE the first quote you shared because it’s brilliant – and absolutely TRUE! Gorgeous photograph too!

    “I thought, wouldn’t it be nice if we all adopted that mindset? To tend to all aspects of life by focusing our efforts in pulling out all the goodness in it? Regardless of how bad a situation appears, there is always sweetness for those who wish to work at drawing it out.”

    A-MEN!

    And I totally agree with you about how it’s not limited to politics, it extends to anyone who has different views. This political season is like listening to two brats fighting with each other. And the media blows it up even more.

    Loving post, my friend. Thank you 🙂
    X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What great food for thought. Draw out all the goodness in life and others. That should be everyone’s motto. Draw out goodness where we see it. If we show it, it will be an example to others, and maybe it will snowball into kindness all around. I love your flower and bee analogy post.

    Like

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.