Thursday Thankfulness

It’s mid-afternoon and I’m finally getting around to posting for Thankful Thursday over at Brian’s Home. The remnants of last weekend’s Winter Storm Gia can still be seen, but temps have risen a bit and some melting has begun. We can now see the extent of the tree damage due to the heavy snow. Our town clocked in at about 20 inches when it was all said and done.

There are a lot of things I’m thankful for since last Saturday. First is that Entrepreneur and I are able to work from home so we weren’t on the roads when the rain decided to turn to ice and then to snow.

I’m thankful our home is built to withstand a lot of what Mother Nature tries to throw at us during the year. I’m also thankful we have underground utilities so our power was not interrupted.

Our daughter and husband scored tickets to the Chief’s/Colts playoff game in Kansas City (they were a house divided!), and I’m thankful they were able to get out of Dodge and up to a hotel in KC before the roads got too bad. I’m thankful Peanut and Twix were safely under our roof during the snow event so I only had to worry about two people on the road, and not four.

Even though I’m a 60+-year-old Nana and not as embracing of cold weather anymore, I’m thankful to have been able to go outside with my grand girls and play in the snow on Saturday. I’m also thankful I could squeeze (and I do mean squeeeeeeze) into my snow pants from a previous lifetime. 🙂

These are memories that will warm my heart when I’m too old to do this anymore….or they’re too old want to do this anymore with me! But, seriously, who is ever too old to build an igloo or snow lady?

I’m thankful and grateful to all the service industry people who were not fortunate enough to be safely at home during and after the storm. Snow removal, utility repair, hospital staffing, and law enforcement usually don’t have the luxury of sipping hot chocolate while wearing fuzzy slippers during these times.

The weather guessers are now trying to decide if we’re getting hit with snow again this weekend, and how much. I’m thankful for the advance warning, even when they don’t get it completely correct.

Linking up with Thankful Thursday over at Brian’s Home.

8 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. How fun that you had the girls for the weekend. I so remember doing this with my granddaughters were younger. They loved coming here and kicking back for a few days. Grandma had far less rules than daddy did. Sweet memories.

    We were supposed to get a big storm last night and into today, but it just didn’t happen. I’m okay with that because high winds were part of the forecast.

    Have a fabulous Thankful Thursday, Lisa. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Our town clocked in at about 20 inches.”

    OMG…TWENTY inches?!?!

    And our city is getting scared about the snow storm we’re supposedly getting this weekend that threatens five inches. HA!

    Wonderful photographs! I especially love the one of Twix fixing the buttons on the snowlady. Adorable!

    Love your gratitude list!

    Have a fantastic weekend, my friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those are wonderful things to be thankful for. – That sure is a pile of snow. Playing with the Grandkids in it, Kudos for being an awesome Grandma. – Thank you too for your nice words on the loss of Ghost this week.

    Like

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.