Facts and many questions

This will probably be viewed as a political post (because what isn’t political these days?), but that’s not my intention. For the record, I:

  • am a white female
  • have an independent political affiliation with conservative leanings
  • reside in one of the “flyover states”
  • don’t agree with Covid vaccine mandates

Those may automatically put me in a particular partisan category, but considering that I also:

  • am voluntarily fully vaccinated
  • wear a mask when in crowded areas
  • believe vaccines are beneficial
  • believe in science and the development of new treatments
  • encourage people to get vaccinated against the virus

Taking this into consideration, I have some observations I’d like to discuss. If you choose to leave a reply, please be courteous and respectful and prove civil discourse and discussion is not dead.

Fact: People who are fully vaccinated can still be infected and transmit the Covid virus.
Question: Why are some businesses requiring proof of vaccination before entering? Even though I’m fully vaccinated, there is a chance I still may be carrying the virus into an establishment just as easily as someone who is unvaccinated. What is gained by requiring proof of vaccination if the virus can be transmitted by vaccinated and unvaccinated people alike? It is my understanding one of the strongest arguments for vaccination is that it lessens the severity of the virus; despite what we were led to believe early on, it doesn’t prevent one from getting the virus. I know dozens of people who are fully vaxxed and have become infected. Some have died.

Fact: Some businesses are requiring proof of vaccination AND photo identification to enter.
Question: Why should someone have to show proof of Covid vaccination AND a photo ID to enter a business? If a case is trying to be made that photo IDs should not be required to cast a vote because it’s somehow discriminatory, how is it acceptable for a business to essentially discriminate against the same demographic? A person usually needs official proof of who they are in order to apply for a loan, open a bank account, get a passport, legally buy a gun, get a job, pick up mail at a USPS facility and complete any legal document. This question is NOT whether requiring a photo ID should or should not be necessary to vote as a citizen of the US….the question is, is this a double standard and in itself a form of discrimination?

Fact: Some health care workers are being mandated to be vaccinated or lose their job.
Question: Should the same people who weathered the initial assault of the virus and the dangerous Delta variant without the benefit of any developed vaccine now have their jobs taken away for not being vaccinated? In the beginning, every front line worker was hailed as a hero. I would certainly encourage them all to get vaxxed, but, seriously, if they survived this long without it and are still taking measures to keep themselves and patients safe, why should they lose their employment?

Opinion: My body, my choice.
Question: Why is it acceptable in some situations to cry, “my body, my choice” and in other situations it’s not? One might argue that, in the case of the Covid vaccines, the unvaccinated are putting other human lives at risk and should have no reason for refusal. (Refer back to my first question). In the case of a woman’s right to abortion, the counter argument can be made that another human life is at risk. This is not a debate on abortion because that is a very nuanced issue. It is an observation of how a political rally cry can be turned around and used against the crier.

Personal freedoms comes with responsibilities. In my opinion, personal freedom should work alongside community responsibility. This virus has taught us that governments and other organizations will try and take away personal freedoms for a variety of partisan reasons. They tell the public truths, half-truths and, sometimes, outright lies and expect everyone to walk in lock step or be ostracized. It has also taught us that only by working together do we have any hope of surviving Mother Nature’s pandemics. There will certainly be more virus threats in the future. Should how this one was handled be viewed as the gold standard of action/response? I certainly hope not.

Your thoughts? My head now hurts from thinking.

10 thoughts on “Facts and many questions

  1. You make some very good points, making me think in a different way about these topics. Hmmm. You make me think I can understand the objection to the vaccine mandates – although there were mandates about vaccinations for my kids to start school and I do not disagree with those – but I do NOT get the objection to wearing masks and the mask mandates in public places. To me, that seems to fit right in with your comment: “Personal freedoms comes with responsibilities. In my opinion, personal freedom should work alongside community responsibility.”
    As to abortions – it all comes down to when you believe that fetus is a human life, doesn’t it? I also think it matters what kind of life that infant would be born into, the mental health of the mother, many of those types of things.
    I do have to say that while I think it’s good to preserve our freedoms, I also think this society, perhaps the world, has gone a bit “demonstration crazy”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You make a good point about school vaccines. It’s a slippery slope. I don’t want to be mandated into requiring to take a flu shot, a shingles shot or a pneumonia shot. Should I get them? Yes. Should it be mandated for everyone? I don’t believe it should be.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I are vaccinated and boosted. He got COVID in January and I did not. I think the vaccine mandates are ridiculous because of that. A person could have COVID and show their vaccine records. Another issue I have is natural immunity has not been taken into consideration.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I object to both mask and vaccine mandates.

    Masks – because not everyone can wear them.
    It’s really just that simple.

    Vaccines – because not everyone can have them.
    It’s also just that simple.

    Unfortunately, the powers that be have gone “one size fits all, all must comply” with this, without recognizing the nuances of what they are demanding.
    Mandates are one thing when the people have recourse to protect themselves when things go wrong (because the “one size fits all” solution does not fit all, ever) but unfortunately, there is no recourse when things go wrong. There is only public shaming, and medical gaslighting.
    If we’re going to talk about community responsibility, then the shades of grey (people who can’t wear masks, people who have adverse reactions) have to be accepted and taken seriously.
    Not over ruled, gaslit, and ridiculed.

    But that’s just my opinion… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You and i are probably in agreement on most of this and other issues.

    My argument in favor of chosing to be vaccinated is when my vaccinated self got the virus from my unvaccinated husband, he ended up in the hospital twice and i got a slight stuffy nose and sore throat for a couple of days. My unvaccinated brother died.

    Yes, it still needs to be a person’s choice, although i will try to convince you with all the evidence i can muster, and respect you no matter how you decide.

    If you cannot be vaccinated because of medical reasons (like my son with liver disease), you should not be discriminated against.

    These topics are made worse by the simple fact many people often vilify those who disagree and refuse to discuss solutions tbat might differ from their favored solution, even if there are better ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t see why proof is needed either or why unvaccinated people are blamed for spreading it. We are vaccinated and always wear masks. I understand why some don’t want to be vaccinated and don’t judge. Our local schools are going to stop wearing masks right after Feb. vacation which I don’t agree with as kids will have traveled right before and will probably spread COVID when they get back to school. XO

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.